Jaspal Badwell – (A Landscape Of Lies – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Jaspal Badwell about her role in ‘A Landscape Of Lies’. Here, Jaspal talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and which three guests she would invite to dinner…

Hey Jaspal. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘A Landscape Of Lies‘.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Haunted by the memories of his time in the Gulf War, Jacob tries to adjust to civilian life aided mainly by his friendship with his commanding officer, Hilt, who has made civvie life work for him. However, Jacob’s stable reality is crushed when Hilt is killed during a suspected mugging that went wrong. Now Jacob feels it’s his duty to find the truth behind the incident and bring closure to Hilt’s widow, Louise. His investigation has him going head to head with DCI Lane and his partners Sergeant Egan and DC Carter as his own life starts to entwine with those he suspects of being involved. Amongst them is East End villain turned property tycoon Brannigan Woods, Marcus Clancy – (whose recent workaholic attitude has put a strain on his marriage to cheating wife Claire) and their rebellious teenage daughter, Hannah. Dr Audrey Grey is the couple’s therapist who is trying to keep the family together whilst her own existence is slowly sinking into self-destruct mode, with only her receptionist Suzy to keep her sane. Jacob soon discovers that not all is as it seems, as the pieces are manoeuvred into place to keep him distracted whilst the final move is played.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a WPC which I enjoyed very much with cast from the film. It was mostly office based and I was alongside other police officers dealing with paperwork and phone calls.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I got involved through Shootingstars Uniform (Kris Sommerville), a friend of mine who I met in the filming industry who put me forward to Paul Knight.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I found that the storyline is very interesting and eye-catching.

The film stars Danny Midwinter, Andrea McLean, Andre Samson, Marc Bannerman and Philip Brodie – with Paul Knight onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I did get to meet Andrea McLean, she was a lovely person and so friendly. My first day on set with her was amazing, she is so relaxed and talks to everyone with a huge smile on her face. It was pleasure meeting her. I also met Paul Knight, he is a great person, friendly, sociable and a busy body. It was interesting to see him directing, he likes to have a laugh and a joke at the same time. He is very focused and has a great crew working with him.

Let’s talk a bit about you Jaspal. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I was always interested in acting and modeling, when I went into it the timing was right. I had done almost everything I needed to do during my career in Hair and Beauty and Holistic Therapies. I felt I had more time and energy to put into acting and modeling.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

I would say to be careful who you meet and don’t let people fob you off as I have been down that road. Always get as many contacts as you can when working with people on film sets so you can share your experience and let your future grow. Check their websites and ask for confirmation via email, also check destinations of where the auditions or shoots are taking place .

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

On my I-Pod I have various types of music, like Beyonce, Niki Minaj, Bruno Mars, Lady Gaga, Usher.

If you could have dinner with three guests (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

I would have dinner with Bruno Mars, Usher and Jackie Chan. Bruno Mars and Usher have great voices and I never get bored listening to their music. I have been a fan of Jackie Chan since I was about 13 years old. he is a great actor. I find him very funny, I’ve seen all his movies over and over again and he still makes me laugh.

If you were stranded on a desert island – what three things could you not live without?

Water would be the main thing as I would like to have a shower and a hot bath on a regular basis. My Blackberry, as I like to keep in touch with my family 24/7, I talk non-stop! And finally my protein shakes which I use when I’m exercising 3 – 4 times a week.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

I have a good feeling that 2012 is going to be a great year for the film industry. I have a lot of projects lined up, you’ll just have to wait and see!

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dhananjay sharma
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 06:44:17

    i want to see A LANDSCAPE OF LIES

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

