Tim Griffin – (Abduction – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Tim Griffin about his role in ‘Abduction’ . Here, Tim talks about how he got involved in the project and how he got into acting in the first place…

 

Hey Tim. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Abduction‘.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

This film is a huge action spy thriller starring Taylor Lautner. He plays a teenager who is forced to go on the run when he realizes he is a child pictured on a missing person’s website, causing his whole world to be turned upside down.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

In the film I play a character with the codename “Flannel”. I’m one of Alfred Molina’s field agents who has the task of bringing in Taylor Lautner’s character. I like to liken myself to Robert Patrick’s character in ‘Terminator 2′. I am a relentless pursuer.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

John Singleton. He is the director of ‘Abduction’ but he also gave me my first big break in the film ‘Higher Learning’. When I met him I was a kid and at the time I had done a lot of TV, he gave me my breakthrough into film. There were also a couple of key producers who were affiliated with the Bourne franchise so they knew me from doing that.

How would you say this film is different and unique to other thrillers?

Well I think the biggest thing about this movie is that it’s protagonist is a teenager. This kid is the focal point of the whole movie. Our director, John Singleton, did a fantastic job of taking the idea of abduction of identity and making it into an action packed thriller. It was really fascinating to see this person who is searching for his identity, who has really been imbued with preternatural skills that he doesn’t even realize he has. Other kids can’t even do what he can do, but he doesn’t realize it because he was brought in a completely different way. It’s all revealed in a rather brilliant way.

The film stars Taylor Lautner, Sigourney Weaver, Lily Collins and Alfred Molina, with John Singleton onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was a great experience to work with such talented people. John had given me my big break into film so I had a previous history with him. Taylor Lautner, I was happy to discover, is very down-to-earth in the face of fame and notoriety. He was a pleasure to work with and I see great things in his future. We had a great supporting cast and it was a pleasure to make this film with people whom I look up to and admire.

Let’s talk a bit about you Tim. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I kind of fell into the whole acting thing actually. I remember wanting to act from a very early age but never really thinking it would go anywhere. In grade school I was involved in class plays but I never believed it would one day be my profession. I did the whole community theatre thing but in college I put acting on the back burner and majored in political philosophy and English literature. If it wasn’t for a flat tire and my mentor Robert Taylor I don’t think I would be where I am today.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Try everything. Just don’t limit yourself to one area. Whether its film or television you should stay involved to practice your craft. I also gave myself a time frame to make it in the industry. I would tell any aspiring actor to have a backup just in case things don’t work out.

You’re known as the ’man who’s in everything’ and you’ve been in a number of different TV series’ and films – who has been your favourite actor/actress to work with so far? Which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

There have just been so many it’s hard to pick just one. All my co-stars have been amazing. From Jeff Bridges to Maria Bello and Matt Damon it has been so surreal. I can say that getting the opportunity to work with George Clooney in ‘Leatherheads’ was something I will never forget. He personally selected me to star in the movie so I take that as huge compliment. In terms of what I consider to be my favourite project, all I can say is that I am lucky to be a working actor so I enjoy all the projects I have been a part of.

If you could have three historical guests to dinner – (living or dead), who would they be and why?

Bruce Lee for sure. I have always been fascinated by the time when Bruce Lee was living in Hollywood and producing martial arts films in the 70’s. To me that must have been one of the most bad-ass times ever to be an actor in Hollywood. He was such a phenomenal talent that I would have loved to have been in his class. I studied a little martial arts growing up in Chicago. In terms of picking two other guests there are just so many people I admire that it’s hard to narrow it down.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

2011 was a very busy year for me. Besides ‘Abduction’ and ‘Prime Suspect’, I also starred in ‘The Collection’, ‘A Better Life’ and ‘Carjacked’ all of which are coming out on DVD soon.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

