Christine Quinn – (Shark Night 3D – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Christine Quinn about her role in ‘Shark Night 3D’. Here, Christine talks about her involvement with the opening scene of the film and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Christine. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Shark Night 3D‘.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a girl named Jess. In the movie, I’m just out trying to have a good time with my boyfriend out at the lake but a hungry shark has some other ideas. I’m not going to sugarcoat it, Jess is there to look sexy and get you ready to have a scary good time.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I’m always looking for new projects and when I found ‘Shark Night 3D’, it looked like a lot of fun. Plus, I’m a big fan of David’s work and knew I’d love to work with him. So I attended the audition, got a call back and obviously landed the part.

Bit of a dumb question – but were you afraid of sharks before you started filming, and are you afraid of sharks now?

No, not at all. Actually, swimming with sharks is something I have always thought would be amazing. I mean don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t ever want to be put in Jess’ shoes in real life, but I think they are beautiful creatures.

Obviously, we should mention that this film is in 3D – what are your thoughts on production companies using this sort of technology? How would you say 3D benefits this movie?

I love 3D films! They make the movie going experience so much more real. You really feel like you are in the movie. Unfortunately, I think 3D gets a bad wrap sometimes because of sloppy post-production 3D. What I mean by that, is not all movies are shot with 3D cameras, sometimes they try to use special effects in post, and most of the time it makes for a sub-par product.

‘Shark Night 3D’ is the real 3D. It was shot with all 3D cameras, and you can definitely tell the difference. It makes the movie so much more fun.

The film stars Sara Paxton, Dustin Milligan, Chris Carmack, Katharine McPhee, Chris Zylka and Alyssa Diaz – with David R. Ellis onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

The crew was really great on this film. Especially at the craft services tent, I wouldn’t have made it without those guys getting my blueberry muffins in the morning!

And David is fabulous. He’s a really talented director and knows how to get the most out of his actors. I learned so much from him, and would work with him again anytime.

Let’s talk a bit about you Christine. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have always been a performer in one-way or another. Acting isn’t something that you just wake up one day and decide you want to do. It’s a passion, and you can’t run from your passion. I never saw myself doing anything else. It was just the natural choice. And look at me. Could you really see me locked away in an office from nine to five?

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Don’t take no for an answer and get used to hearing no a lot. Every audition is not going to lead to a job. I’ve been on plenty that went nowhere. But if its something you truly want to do, you keep at it until you get your shot. What you do with it from there is up to you.

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, living or dead – who would they be and why?

Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn, and Farrah Faucet. They were all beautiful women who weren’t afraid of being sexy. And even though they were looked at like sex symbols, they were all real, all smart and all very classy.

What is currently on your I-Pod?

Type O Negative – they have really sexy lyrics, and they remind me of Halloween which is my favourite Holiday!

Marilyn Manson – I could listen to his cover of Sweet Dreams over and over again.

I also have a lot of club music, a lot of people don’t know this but my car is actually the hottest club in town.

What is your favorite drink / food?

I love pizza and cream soda. I hate to admit this but I don’t think I can go a week without an extra cheesy pizza, and cream soda.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I have a project called ‘Humans Vs Zombies’ that has just been in select theatres recently. I just got back from the premiere showing of it and I think it’s my new favourite movie. You just can’t beat a good zombie flick!

I also just wrapped shooting on a project called ‘Ghost Of Goodnight Lane’ with Billy Zane. I play an actress (big stretch right?) who has to deal with all sorts of creepy happenings in the studio where she’s filming. The movie is based off of the real life studio where we shot, which has some ghosts of its own running around.

Readers that want to know more about what I’m up to can keep up with me on my Facebook (facebook.com/ChristineBQuinn) and Twitter (@ChristineBQuinn).

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

