Adam Stanley – (Abduction – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Adam Stanley about his role in ‘Abduction’. Here, Adam talks about how he got involved in the film and about his tour in Iraq and Afghanistan…

Hey Adam. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Abduction‘.

Matt, no problem…my pleasure, I really enjoy your blog!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘Abduction’ is a thriller about a kid called Nathan (Taylor Lautner) who discovers his parents who raised him aren’t really his parents; this sets off a series of events which show him that….well you’ll just have to see!

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the CIA SWAT team leader; he’s a Black-Ops guy who is called in to “tie up loose ends.” You don’t want to cross this guy in a dark alley.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

As a combat veteran of both Iraq and Afghanistan, (incidentally where I’m writing you from) directors searching for authenticities have sought out ‘real guys’ that can provide the assistance in making certain roles or action scenes true to life. John Singleton and Gavin O’Conner are two of the best. I’m a regular guy with some performance background that fits this mould; I was honoured to fill it.

How would you say this film is different and unique to other thrillers?

I think John did a masterful job casting, combined with some great action scenes and a few twists I think it provides some great suspense. The very idea of the film is unique…and let me say, when I have a son, I plan on raising him to be just like ‘Nathan’.

The film stars Taylor Lautner, Sigourney Weaver, Lily Collins and Alfred Molina, with John Singleton onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

For a newer actor, it was like attending the Super Bowl everyday. A real powerhouse of talent, all of who were great professionals and people. I was lucky and fortunate to be a part of something so great.

We should also mention that you’re in another movie released this week, ‘Warrior’ – starring Tom Hardy and Joel Edgerton – what was it like working on that movie?

Directed by Gavin O’Connor, ‘Warrior’ is a FANTASTIC portrayal of brotherly love and life…all set to mixed martial arts fighting. I play a Marine who has a role in figuring out who Tom Hardy is in the movie. My scenes take place in ‘Iraq’ and I will say…we nailed them! They are authentic and a true depiction of life in combat.

Let’s talk a bit about you Adam. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

You know Matt, great question. In addition to the military I am also a pilot for Delta Airlines. Both of my chosen ‘type-A’ occupations don’t exactly foster the performing arts. I believe that there are many facets that make up a well-rounded person; experiencing life means setting aside your fear and going after all life has to offer. I have always loved acting. Combining it with my real life experiences only enhance the product and help share part of me and my past, with society

We should mention that you’re an Officer in the Army, fighting in Afghanistan – without sounding like an ass here, what is the situation like out there for you and our troops?

You don’t sound like an ass. It is my opinion that explaining and talking about our experience is part of our duty as servicemen and women. I can’t speak for all who are deployed, but the feeling of both the American and U.K. troops I serve with is one of privilege. Politics aside, life is intense in war. You are reminded, sometimes forcefully, of mortality. To put it as simply as I can, if you can imagine the emotions you feel in normal life in terms of a wavelength, that wavelength, in war, is different because it has a much greater amplitude. Your highs are higher and your lows, lower than anything you experience ‘normally’. You see the very best and worst humanity has to offer, the greatest acts of heroism and sacrifice and the tragic heartbreaking randomness and horror associated with battle.

In short, life in Afghanistan is both terrifying and rewarding. We feel optimistic, we hope that the sacrifice made by all those who gave their fullest measure of devotion, is realized in a world that is safer and brighter tomorrow, than it is today.

If I asked you to decorate a room for me, what colour would you choose to paint it and why?

Blue, I love the colour of the sky. Although, if you asked my wife, I’m sure she would politely correct me and pick one with a little more ‘depth’.

If you could invite three historical guests to dinner, (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

My great grandfather. My Mom has always said I favoured him. He lived at the turn of the last century and I think knowing where you come from is a big part of who you are; I would like my first conversation to be with family. Secondly, Martin Luther King Jr., I admire leadership and vision, the man’s ability to speak captured millions. I would love to know where that drive, determination and fire lived. For the third…off the top of my head…Smokin Joe Frazier. I’m a bit of a boxer and admire athletes who come from little or nothing, and through sheer determination and will, become successful. What was it like to knock Ali down??????

What’s the most interesting / funny piece of news you’ve heard in the last month or so?

Martin Luther King Jr. got a ‘C’ in his public speaking class in college…imagine that!

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Returning home to the States, my man! I’m excited to get home and get back to a ‘normal’ life. Deploying multiple times takes its toll on you and family. Skiing in Colorado, Italian in Philadelphia and some sun in Mexico! As far as work…my agent keeps me busy and I’m certain something will pop up. Great talking to you Matt, thanks again for the invite and as always I’ll be following your blog!!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

