Brent Bailey – (Going Down In LA-LA Land – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Brent Bailey about his role in ‘Going Down In LA-LA Land’. Here, Brent talks about how he got involved in the film and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Brent. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Going Down In LA-LA Land‘.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? I understand it’s based on a novel?

Yes, the movie is based on the novel by Andy Zeffer. The movie focuses on the entertainment business and how some people will get sucked into doing things they wouldn’t normally do in hopes to advance their career. It takes a look at the darker side of Hollywood, and shows you what happens behind closed doors. At the same time it shows how important friendships are and also gives a glimmer of hope that even when put in very serious situations, some people will surprise you for the better.

Had you read the novel before you signed onto the project?

Truthfully, I hadn’t and still haven’t. When I had been asked if I would be interested in the film I was sent the script. I read it shortly after I got it and thought it seemed like a very interesting project. Soon after I sent an e-mail to my agent letting them know that I was interested in the film. Later that week I had an audition and the rest is history.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

My character’s name is Dean. I am basically the guy that keeps Candy satisfied sexually. She definitely doesn’t keep me around for conversation, but I help to fill the void in her life sexually.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Jeremy Gordon cast the film, and I had previously worked with him on a few projects prior to this one. After he got attached to the movie he sent word to my agents that there were a few different roles in the movie that I would be good for. After I read it, I thought it would be fun to play the role of Dean, and so we set it up! I went through the same process as any other actor would. I had a first audition with Jeremy that was put on tape for Casper to review, and then I had a call-back with Casper and Jeremy. Once we had gotten all the auditioning process out-of-the-way it was just a matter of getting the contracts set up, and then shooting the movie.

How would you say this film is different and unique to other comedies? Would you say there’s an inherent truth with what the film tries to say?

I think that part of what makes it unique is that a lot of it actually is very true. Thankfully when the movie did get heavy, the character Candy would relieve that pressure. The characters comedic relief was priceless, and also a big part of what I loved about the script. I can’t say that I personally have experienced much of what happens in the movie, but I have spoken to many people who saw the film and said it definitely has a lot of truth behind it.

The film stars Matthew Ludwinski, Allison Lane, Michael Medico and John Schile – with Casper Andreas onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

My scenes were with Matt and Allison, so I can only speak on how it was to work with them. I did get a chance to meet Michael and John, but I never had the privilege of working with them, or getting to watch them work. Allison truly has incredible comedic timing and is such a unique individual that has so many great moments in the movie. Her presence alone demands attention, and I have no doubt that we will be seeing her on more projects soon. Matt was also a pleasure to work with. I really admired how committed he was to the role, and how seriously he took the entire process. He added the mystery and innocence to the role but with a bit of edge that allowed him to be believable. I was very impressed to see how it all came together. As for Casper, he was awesome to work with. He allows his actors to have the freedom to try things in the moment, and to explore within the parameters of the scene. It was very clear that he had a vision of what he wanted, but he was confident enough to let that vision be altered if it would help the scene. It was obvious from the moment I stepped on set that he knew what needed to be done, and exactly how to get it there.

Let’s talk a bit about you Brent. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I actually fell into acting by accident. Originally I had gone to school to be a computer programmer. I got my Bachelors of Science in Computer Information Systems, and my Masters in Business Administration. A long-term relationship had come to a final ending point right about when I was graduating with my Masters, and it jolted me into a decision to leave Arizona and see where I ended up. I had no idea that it would be on the futon of my best friend Harley Jay’s couch in Los Angeles. Originally I started doing small acting jobs to pay the bills and instantly started having success. Within the first three months of being in LA I was eligible to join SAG, and soon after I fell in love with acting and decided to make it my career. I have now been in LA for six years and feel very thankful for all that I have been able to accomplish in such a short time.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

I think that the best thing that I could say to anyone that wanted to get into the business is that you have to be sure you really want it. This career choice is definitely not an easy one. It’s about luck and timing and being prepared when you finally get your moment to shine. There is a ton of rejection, and a lot of uncertainty. The good news is that if it truly is your passion, there is no better feeling than the one you have when you are on set. If you are in it just for the money, or the fame, I’d say pick something else. If you love acting, and being on set and going to auditions is something that makes you happy, go for it! Realize that there are going to be moments you feel like the whole world is against you, but push through and know that if you stick with it you will accomplish anything you want.

You’ve been in a number of different film and TV projects – who has been your favourite actor/actress to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

This is a difficult question for me because I have truly loved every project that I have been a part of, and I have been so lucky to have met all the people who I have worked with. If I had to choose one, I’d say a feature that I worked on this summer called ‘Republic Of Two’ has been my most enjoyable. It’s a story about a regular guy in a relationship with the love of his life, but also having to try to balance out the rest of his life while keeping his relationship afloat. I connected with this film on a very personal level because I know how hard it is to try to balance out relationships with everything else going on in life. This project was where I also met Janet Montgomery, who would be the person that I have enjoyed working with the most so far. It was amazing to watch her work, and it was so easy to play off of her because she is incredibly talented. Janet and I have stayed in touch since we wrapped the film and I have no doubt that we will remain very good friends.

If I gave you a room to decorate, what colour would you paint it and why?

I actually just went through this whole process in my new apartment. When we moved in the walls were all white, and it was driving me crazy. We ended up painting one room red, which we turned into a movie room. The living room was painted a pumpkin type of colour, which I had thought would look more light brown, but pumpkin was definitely a truthful name! My room I painted a very light brown. I enjoy having colour instead of white walls because I think it adds more personality to the rooms, but I don’t like the colours to be too dark because I love natural light. I think that the lighting in your place is very important because subconsciously I believe that the colour of the room can really affect your mood. I love the red that was painted in the movie room because it gives it that movie cinema vibe, and I LOVE going to the movies!

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

My favourite vacation that I’ve had so far is a trip to Costa Rica with some of my best friends. We spent eleven days traveling through the whole pacific side of Costa Rica. Every day was a new adventure filled with dirt bikes, surfing, zip lines, hot springs, volcanoes, cliff jumping and so much more. I am a bit of an adrenaline junkie so this was paradise to me! If I could go back and repeat the entire trip again I would do it in a heartbeat, but this time I’d go to the Caribbean side and do as much scuba diving as possible. The ocean is a fascinating place to me that really does feel like a whole different world, so I enjoy spending as much time as possible in or near it.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

2011 has been a busy year for me so far. I shot commercials for ‘Alltel’, ‘Home Depot’ and ‘Turbo Tax’ at the beginning of the year, and then moved onto three features called ‘The Gilliam Effect’, ‘Republic Of Two’ and ‘Think Like A Man’. Last weekend I was in Catalina shooting a short film called ‘Aplysia’, and now I am on the lookout for my next project. My primary focus is on television right now. My goal is to be on a series in 2012 and hopefully be able to do movies on my downtime in between shooting. Like I said before, this business is unpredictable, so as of now I just take each day as it comes, and I’m excited at the possibility for any new projects that come my way!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

