Courtney Henggeler – (Friends With Benefits – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Courtney Henggeler about her role in ‘Friends With Benefits’. Here, Courtney talks about what it was like working with Justin Timberlake and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Courtney. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Friends With Benefits‘.

No problem!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Two buddies thinking they can get it on without romantic comedy wackiness ensuing?

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I have the very intriguing role of the flight attendant who flirts and then scolds JT’s character.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I’d say the humour. Will (Gluck)’s writing is pretty hilarious.

The film stars Justin Timberlake, Mila Kunis, Patricia Clarkson, Jenna Elfman and Bryan Greenberg, with Will Gluck onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

For my day of filming, I had to be on set at 6am. And as soon as I arrived, they threw me onto set. Before I knew what was happening they were like “Courtney this is Justin, Justin this is Courtney”. And I think between the early hour, lack of coffee, and fact that I was just thrown face to face with the king of N’Sync the only thing I could muster up to say was “Wow, your eyes are blue”. They were all very nice, and seem to all be having fun. I on the other hand was just having an out-of-body experience .

Let’s talk a bit about you Courtney. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Besides torturing my family by being a very theatrical child? I will credit my best friend Patti for making me audition for our high school’s production of ‘Carousel’ when we were in 9th grade. I pretended to eat an apple while singing about clams. I was hooked.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Get into a good class. I accredit a lot of my success in Los Angeles to getting into a good class. Not only did it teach me the tools I needed, but it gave me a great community of actors and friends. The friends I met my first year in LA in class, are still my best friends in the world. Having support and love makes this wacky business a lot easier to handle and navigate.

You’ve had a number of roles in different TV and film projects – who have been your favourite actors/actresses to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

I shot a short film for Royal Caribbean, directed and starring Jenny McCarthy this past winter. I was terrified to be on a cruise ship for a week with perfect strangers. And even more intimidated working with Jenny. But that turned out to be the best experience. She was very encouraging of us having fun, and making our role our own. She just let me play and improvise and be silly. I do a lot of television and because of scheduling and time restraints, there’s never much room to just play. And I think that’s why I love the process of acting so much, because I have the freedom to play. So being on that set, was by far my favourite. Plus, you know, free cruise!

If I asked you to decorate a room for me, what colour would you choose to paint it and why?

I would hope that you have a tiny princess living inside you. Because more often than not, I’m going to paint a room pink. I’m terribly girly. My first instinct when I see sparkles, is to cover myself in them. And then add some bows.

What’s the most interesting / funny piece of news you’ve heard in the last month or so?

Damn, I can’t think of a thing.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Big move! I’m moving back to New York! That, and world domination of course.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

