Ashlynn Yennie – (The Human Centipede: Full Sequence – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to Ashlynn Yennie about her involvement in ‘The Human Centipede’ series of films. Here, Ashlynn talks about how she got involved in the franchise in the first place, what fans can expect from ‘The Human Centipede: Full Sequence’ and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Ashlynn. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about…‘The Human Centipede: (Full Sequence)‘. Obviously, given it’s horrific nature, anyone under 18 should stop reading now. Or anyone who was genuinely creeped out by the last one.

What’s the general plotline surrounding this instalment?

‘The Human Centipede – Part 2’ is about a man who becomes obsessed with Dr. Heiter and ‘Part 1’. He doesn’t understand that it is just a movie and not reality. He decides to make his own centipede and connect twelve people. He captures 12 different people (me included) and performs “surgery” on all of us to make us a centipede.

Of course, you were in the original – how did you get involved in the franchise in the first place? More to the point, why did you want to even get involved?

I was asked to audition for a controversial European film. I went to the audition knowing nothing about the story, characters, etc. I was one of the only girls who stayed to actually audition. I was more intrigued as to how they were actually going to attach us without actually attaching us 🙂 I loved being in ‘Part 1’ and when Tom asked me to be in ‘Part 2’ I was all in! I would work with Tom any day of the week 🙂

The film stars Laurence R. Harvey, your good self, Maddi Black, Kandace Caine and Dominic Borelli – with Tom Six onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? How was the production of the film for you? Obviously, it must have been great given the fact you were at the front this time round…and the plot device to bring you back into the franchise was impressive, I thought.

I like how Tom used real life to tie the story together… when in actuality the film is one huge day-dream in Martin’s head. I loved working with all the actors! They are such wonderful people and I wish them nothing but great success! Tom is such a wonderful director and yes, he has asked me to do some pretty nasty things but I have always trusted him with his vision and direction.

Obviously, there’s been huge problems with the films distribution, particularly in the U.K – (where it was banned by the BBFC – but it’s now recently been given a 18 rating after 32 compulsory cuts were made) – what are your thoughts on that? I’ve heard Tom defend the film, stating how – “It is all make-believe – it’s art’…

I think people should be allowed to see what they want. It’s sad that they cut that much away from the film but people will always have opinions and sometimes you just have to turn the other way. For the real fans just wait for the DVD 🙂 I promise its much better than the watered down version!

What’s the reception of the film been like for you? Do people recognise you on the street? Is it both good and bad?

It’s the same as with ‘Part 1’. Some people love it and some people hate it. There is no grey area with the ‘The Human Centipede’ films. My face was sewn to a butt in ‘Part 1’ and ‘Part 2’ is in black and white so no I don’t get recognized…haha…

At the end of the film (SPOILER ALERT), you all get shot by him and he gets a centipede up his ass – but then the film cuts back to the start of the film where he’s watching the original again – is that supposed to indicate that it was all a dream?

Exactly. It’s all in his head, a really long daydream… that is why none of the characters really talk to each other. Like most dreams, it is all action and certain things happen that couldn’t in reality. I mean do you really think that no one would notice a baby in a car garage for days??

There’s now talk of a ‘Human Centipede 3’ – do you think you’ll be involved in the next one or is two, far too many? Where do you think they could they go with it? 3D? Kids? Has there been a slip/hint of an idea?

Tom killed me as a character in ‘Part 1’ and myself in ‘Part 2’ so I don’t think I will be back for ‘Part 3’. I don’t know where he is going to take it but I am sure it will push the envelope again!

Let’s talk a bit about you Ashlynn. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I love acting and it has been what I’ve wanted to do since I did my first play when I was four. I love my job, it’s exciting and it is a tough business but I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Persistance and patience!! If it’s what you love to do than do it! Life is too short…enjoy!

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

I am a dork, but it is almost Christmas so anything that has a holiday vibe to it!

If you could have three historical guests to dinner – (living or dead), who would they be and why?

Oh that is tricky… I may have to get back to you on that one. One for sure is Audrey Hepburn so she could give me all her classy style secrets…

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I have a new film ‘American Maniacs’ coming out January 1st. I am also working on a new comedy web-series. I think 2012 is going to be a great year!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

