Nicola Posener – (Dawn Of The Dragonslayer – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Nicola Posener about her lead role in ‘Dawn Of The Dragonslayer’. Here, Nicola talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Nicola. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Dawn Of The Dragonslayer‘.

My pleasure.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘Dawn of the Dragonslayer’ is a medieval fantasy adventure film. “When Will’s father is killed by a dragon, he embarks on an epic journey fuelled by vengeance that leads him to an ancestral home which he stays and at and works for the tyrannical Sterling in order to learn how to slay the beast. While he is training, he befriends Sterling’s daughter Kate and Sterling becomes increasingly suspicious and threatened of Will. He orders his men to kill him but Will escapes. Now Will must evade Sterling’s men whilst trying to avenge his father”.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the female lead Kate Sterling. She is extremely independent and headstrong. Kate has a romantic nature and is anxious for adventure. She might throw herself into a dangerous situation for what she considers a worthy cause or even a thrill. She has a strong yet naïve sense of justice.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I sent my casting submission directly to the U.S based production company having seen the character breakdown listed through an online audition site. Shortly afterwards, I received an email from the producer requesting some scenes to be put on tape and was fortunately cast based on the tapes that were sent. I owe many thanks to my friend Carla who kindly read opposite me.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I think this film stands apart from many other films of a similar genre due to its believability. At its heart is a strong story driven by the characters and relationships. This mixed with the magical elements and the dragon I believe make for an engaging and thrilling film!

The film stars Philip Brodie, Richard McWilliams, your good self, Ian Cullen, Ciaran O‘Grady and Adam Johnson – with Anne K. Black onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

This project in particular was amazing to work on because of the people on board! The cast and crew were such a pleasure to work with. Everyone had the same passion to make the film it’s very best! The director Anne was great; she knew exactly what she wanted from each scene and brought out the best in all the actors! She was like a big sister to me during the shoot! I have stayed in touch with all the actors and look forward to collaborating with a few of them on a separate project currently in production.

Let’s talk a bit about you Nicola. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

As far as I can remember I have always aspired to be an actress. Going to see West End shows as an occasional treat as a child made a massive impact on me, and was certainly the inspiration that lead me to begin weekend acting classes.

You’ve been in a number of TV series’ and films – who have been your favourites actors/actresses to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

My favourite actors to have worked with so far have been Amy Wren and Naomi Scott from Disney Channels ‘Life Bites’. It felt more like meeting up with friends rather than going to work. One of my particular highlights on a project was the table read for ‘Twenty8K’ with Parminda Nagra, Jonas Armstrong and Kierston Wareing. It was such a talented cast I found myself getting distracted watching their performances rather than keeping track of the pages. My favourite project to have worked on so far has been ‘Dawn of the Dragonslayer’, lovely and extremely talented team behind it!

If you could have dinner with three guests (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

I think if this were work related it would have to be Tim Burton, Russell T.Davies and my lovely agent Michele to begin collaborations!

If you were stranded on a desert island – what three things could you not live without?

My laptop (with wireless) to stay connected, Red Bull to keep my energies up whilst I built a raft and Factor 50 sunscreen as I burn rather easily.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’m hopeful and excited about what next year will bring! I have recently wrapped as guest lead in an episode of ‘Casualty’ for the BBC which I believe will air March 24th. ‘Twenty8K’ and ‘Payback Season’ have secured cinema releases, with ‘File Box’, ‘Dawn Of The Dragonslayer’ and ‘Axed’ being released worldwide on DVD. I’m looking forward to the auditions picking up after Christmas and seeing what opportunities shall hopefully come about next.

Thanks for the interview!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Twenty8K – Interview with Nicola Posener « Jonas Armstrong Blog
  2. SeekerRose184
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 09:17:30

    Thank you for the interview with Nicola from Twenty8K! Always great to read mentions of Jonas Armstrong =) Recently started to write a blog (also WordPress) about Jonas and posted a link to this article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

