Rafael Amaya – (Atrocious – 2010).

I recently got the chance to talk to Rafael Amaya about his role in ‘Atrocious’. Here, Rafael talks about how he got involved in the project in the first place and which three guests he would invite to dinner…

Hey Rafael. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Atrocious’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The film focuses on excerpts of found footage recovered by Spanish police, documenting a family of five discovering the truth behind a dangerous urban legend. The 37 hours of found footage follows Cristian and July Quintanilla passing time at their summer home by investigating a terrifying and mysterious urban legend. As their investigation intensifies, strange occurrences in and around the house escalate rapidly, culminating finally in unspeakable atrocities.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie

My character is a psychiatrist that dictates the diagnosis of one of the central characters of the film by submerging himself in the minds of the unusual human pathology. Giving his logical (scientific) point of view he goes on to explain the unusual behaviour.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I went to Cannes and got the opportunity to meet Jessica Villegas Lattuada and we shared our interest in good film making. We were both living in Spain. I was in Madrid and Jessica was in Barcelona. We became friends and she later approached me with this project that she was developing with Fernando Barreda Luna.

How would you say this film is unique and different to most horror thrillers?

This film is part of a new movement that mixes fiction with documentary. Bringing terror to the big screen in a very raw way.

The film stars Cristian Valencia, Clara Moraleda, Chus Pereiro, Sergi Martin and Xavi Dos – with Fernando Barreda Luna onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I only worked with Fernando Barreda Luna because my character is at the end of the film. We had excellent communication. He is a young director that listens to input. This is just the beginning of an excellent line of films to come.

Let’s talk a bit about you Rafael. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I honestly can’t remember what was the trigger to get me into acting. I just knew it was something I had to do. I just remember discovering fascinating worlds in acting.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

You must always be honest to yourself. Always be realistic but never stop dreaming. Understand that in acting you are always preparing yourself to create opportunities and to be ready when they come.

If you could choose three guests to have dinner with (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

  • My Grandmother because I have so many questions regarding my family’s history.
  • Mario Moreno “Cantiflas” because no one can make me laugh as much as he did.
  • My dog because if the dead are living, my dog (Oliver) can speak.

What is your favorite holiday destination and why?

An isolated beach where I can be with my own thoughts.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

“Musica Ranchera” – Mexican country music.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

I’m currently developing a very risky and interesting mini-series that will certainly cause controversy in 2012.

Any message for the fans?

Thank you for the love and support. There is never a moment I’m not surprised by the incredible devotion they give me. Very thankful.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. atika
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 00:49:23

    Great interview! Did he say something about a girlfriend?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

