Ed Coleman – (Forget Paris – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Ed Coleman about his role in ‘Forget Paris’. Here, Ed talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and what is currently on his I-Pod right now…

Hey Ed. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Forget Paris’.

My pleasure. It gives me something to during breaks in filming (instead of drinking gallons of coffee). Actually having said that I’m drinking coffee right now…

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘Forget Paris’ follows the story of Dan and Katie, a couple who have recently split up, but who had booked to go away for a romantic NewYears in Paris before things fell apart. They decide not to waste their money and go on the trip anyway as ‘friends’ (hey, there’s a recession on…) and five days of misery ensue. Particularly for Dan.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Dan is a writer with a cynical, occasionally waspish exterior, but is a romantic at heart. Unfortunately that leaves him susceptible to getting emotionally eviscerated, which duly happens on the trip. The great irony of it is that he doesn’t even like Paris; he only agreed to go originally because Katie wanted to. Remember those Harry Enfield ‘Dime’ bar adverts from the 90s about Armadillos? Well he’s a bit like that – ‘soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside’. Only he looks a lot like me.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Bit of an odd one actually – it sort of came from outside the usual channels. Chris (the director) put out a casting call which I responded to. Usually these things go through my agent, but I like to keep busy and it was filming over New Years when most productions are on holiday, so I could fit it in. Also I really hate New Years, so it was a great excuse not to have to attend any wretched parties.

How has the reception been to the film so far? I understand it was at the Raindance Film Festival…

It’s been pretty good so far. Raindance was the world premiere, and the response was positive. Certainly everyone I’ve spoken to seemed to like it. We’ll see where it goes from here I guess.

The film stars yourself and Mai Cunningham, with Christopher Presswell onboard as director – what was it like working with such a small cast and crew on-set?

‘Onboard’ is an oddly appropriate choice of words, as we actually all lived together on a boat during the shoot. It’s just as well we were only there for a week or so, or there may have ended up being a mutiny. No, everyone was a delight, and I think the end result is an impressive achievement considering it was such a tiny crew, filming almost guerrilla style. A great experience marred only by the cold; we were shooting predominantly outside, in December. It was freezing.

Let’s talk a bit about you Ed. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?…

How long have you got? I guess it stems from an over-active imagination. I was an only child, and my parents were divorced so I spent a lot of time entertaining myself – I used to pretend I was my own evil twin brother. I went to boarding school when I was 6, which I initially hated, but ended up auditioning for the school play. I remember the first performance, coming off stage and thinking ‘Wow. I want to do this forever’. Before that I had wanted to be a paleontologist. Bizarrely.

You’ve been in a number of TV series and films – who has been your favourite actor/actress to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

Quite early on in my career I got to work with one of my childhood heroes, Ade Edmondson. I absolutely loved ‘Bottom’ when I was a kid, and I had the chance to play his son in a sitcom. Sadly the show was not a success, but he remains a legend. And bloody lovely. More recently I loved working with Rebekah Staton on ‘Spy’, which is on Sky 1 at the moment. We had a sibling-like relationship which involved her being wonderfully positive and reassuring, whilst simultaneously bullying me for being posh. I would bully her for believing in astrology, so… you know. Give and take. She is ace though.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

In no particular order; Q-Tip, Woodkid, Beethoven, Max Richter, Deadmau5, The Brute Chorus, Doc Watson, Erik Satie and Ludacris. You gotta have a bit of Ludacris. I have eclectic tastes…

If I was a genie and could grant you three wishes, what would you choose and why?

Oh boy. Er… Sort out the world (global financial crisis/world poverty/disease). Make the England rugby team stop being terrible. Then I’d wish for your freedom. Like in ‘Aladdin’.

What’s the most interesting/funniest piece of news you’ve heard in the last month or so?

Well leaving aside all the world’s troubles, have you heard there making a film of Captain Planet? Unbelievable.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

Well, ‘Spy’ is continuing to air at the moment, then I’ve got a few more projects in the pipeline but I’m not entirely sure I’m allowed to talk about them. So instead I’m going to lobby for a part in this flipping Captain Planet movie. Come on! I’d be an ace Planeteer. I’ve got my own recycling bin and everything. Are you listening America?! Hello?

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

