Ryan Dillon – (Littlerock – 2010).

I recently got the chance to talk to Ryan Dillon about his role in ‘Littlerock’. Here, Ryan talks about his ongoing working relationship with director Mike Ott and what is currently on his I-Pod right now…

Hey Ryan. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Littlerock‘…

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Thank you, Matt for having me! ‘Littlerock’ is about two Japanese tourists. Their rental car gets marooned in Littlerock, CA – (which is a town about 30 minutes north east-ish of Valencia). The two tourists (Atsuko and Rintaro) encounter Cory and a few of the towns people at the hotel they are staying in and where the “townies” happen to be having a party. Atsuko and Rintaro’s intent was to go to Manzanar which was a Japanese internment camp, to see their grandfather’s name on the wall and then go to San Francisco. But with their rental car broken down they end up staying in the town for a couple of days while the car gets fixed. Their time in the town teaches them something about small town American culture and themselves.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

In ‘Littlerock’ I play a racist homophobic drug dealer,…I’m the bad guy. Cory owes me some money and he’d better repay me or else!! HAHA!

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned, but I was also in Mike Ott’s (the director) first project called ‘Analog Days’. I had a really great time on that film and was super excited when Mike called me in to audition for ‘Littlerock’! Luckily I was a good bad guy and got the part.

The film stars Atsuko Okatsuka, Cory Zacharia, Rintaro Sawamoto, Matthew Fling and your good self – with Mike Ott onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I worked with Mike on ‘Analog Days’ so I was already familiar with him, and he’s amazing at giving the actor the opportunity to explore the character their own way. The producers Fred Fulton and Sierra Leoni were amazing and pitched in doing anything from holding bounce boards to getting us to remember what we did on the previous take. Cory,… well…. you’ll have to see the movie then you’ll know what I mean…. ha! Atsy aka Atsuko is a natural, this was her first film and she’s very captivating and great to work with. We all just worked on another project that is yet untitled and directed by Mike and it was great to be with that well seasoned group again.

Let’s talk a bit about you Ryan. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?…

I started acting in my father’s church; yup I’m the son of a preacher man. My first play was ‘Godspell’ and from there I was hooked – I acted in all the church plays I could go for, meanwhile playing the cool kid in school – (I was an undercover thespian). I later did one of those cheesy “Become an actor show cases” and ended up landing my first agent in Seattle. I grew up in Auburn, Washington – (it’s near Seattle), did some indie films and modeling jobs then graduated and much to my parents dismay got accepted into Marymount College in Palos Verdes, CA which is near LA. At the college an agent came to do a talk about careers in Hollywood and ended up signing me and the rest is history.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

My advice would be to make sure you’re doing it because its your passion, something that if there was no money, fame, or any material or outside validation from you’d still be doing it. It’s a great feeling getting noticed for your work but that happens very infrequently – so you must have the heart and all to keep going when there seems to be no opportunity in sight. Also you should be making your own work – if you think someone will “discover you” you’re wasting time! There is no excuse now days to not make a web series, a short film, or even a feature with all the technology that is available. Oh and fuck the back up plans! Those are for the faithless and wary!

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Oh no! So now you’re really gonna get to know me ugh! HAHA ok Jonny Lang, he is my favourite!!! ‘The Turn Around’ album specifically….. If my friend Sly reads this he will be laughing and saying “Oh lord your still listening to that!” New stuff would be Usher and David Guetta’s “Without You,” Coldplay “Paradise”, Michelle Branch “Loud Music”, Kelly Clarkson “What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger)”…….yes I listen to Kelly Clarkson and I’m not scared to admit it!

If I was a genie and could grant you three wishes, what would you wish for and why?

  1. That I could speak to dead people, I feel they probably have a lot of things I could learn from and I could talk to a few old friends.
  2. The opportunity to work with Steven Spielberg, the films he makes have found a way to bring in a large audience. His films speak to our emotions and they tend to say something about our culture – whether it be about the past or the present.
  3. Would be for humans and the natural world to be unified – so that we stop destroying everything.

What’s your favorite holiday destination and why?

MONTANA!!!!!!! I was born in a tiny town called Anaconda I miss it! So peaceful and beautiful it is and always will be my real home! The people there are so genuine and I love being surrounded by nature and wildlife.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

I have two films coming out, one that has no title yet but is directed by Mike Ott and I play a gay character, a huge change from the last film I did with him. Second is a film called ‘Monika’ with a my dear friend Cerina Vincent who I met at Marymount College, and has some other really amazing actors in it,… I’m another bad guy in that one and its directed by Steven R. Monroe who I’m sure you’ve all heard of. I’m also in production on a film called ‘30′, directed by John Fitzpatrick who I’m producing it with. Last but not least I’m writing a script about the Don’t Ask Don’t Tell law, following the life of a young boy to adulthood who joins the military. The film is tentatively entitled ‘Queen For A Day’.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

