Suzan Anbeh – (The Theatre Bizarre – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Suzan Anbeh about her role in ‘The Theatre Bizarre’. Here, Suzan talks about what it was like working on her section of the film, and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Suzan. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘The Theatre Bizarre’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film, in particular your segment?

My segment focuses on a dysfunctional married couple. He is obsessed by her and she wants to end the relationship.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Buddy Giovinazzo and I have worked together before. He is such a great director and a Mensch and I was flattered that he offered me a part. It was a challenging part with a wonderful partner Andre Hennicke – it’s also a genre I’ve never done before.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Mo is a French woman, living in Berlin – who is successful and independent. She is the kind of woman one cannot possess.

How would you say this film is different from other horror movies?

This film describes the horror inside various relationships. The evil is inside not outside.

The film stars Virginia Newcomb and Udo Kier, with a variety of other cast members – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

In my particular segment, Buddy managed to create an atmosphere where we could all bring out our best working towards the scenes – and we laughed a lot! Where there is tension there has to be relaxation. It was a delight.

Let’s talk a bit about you Suzan. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I wanted to be a superstar! … hahaha no of course not. I was fascinated by theatre. I loved the smell and the joy that came across backstage and on stage. And I hated the idea to study for ages. Well with acting you never stop being challenged.

Who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

There have been many ! But actors don’t give advice to actors. I just watched them carefully, the good ones and the others…

If you could invite three historical guests to a dinner, living or dead – who would you choose and why?

I would and will invite Buddy. Then Angelina Jolie because we can talk while our kids are happy 🙂 and Daniel Barenboim.

What does a Suzan Anbeh day usually consist of?

Laughing , cleaning the house and baking cakes with my son…and preparing for the next film.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

North Africa fighting for democracy.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

I don’t even know what going to happen in the next three months …? I am with you now in the present!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

