Rick Irwin – (30 Minutes Or Less – 2011).

I recently got the chance to have a quick interview with Rick Irwin about his role in ’30 Minutes Or Less’. Here, Rick talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with Ruben Fleischer…

Hey Rick. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘30 Minutes Or Less‘.

You bet. Thanks for having me.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

A guy (Jesse Eisenberg) who is down on his luck with his job and the girl he’s interested in gets kidnapped. The kidnappers strap a bomb to his chest and force him to rob a bank. Yes, it’s a comedy!

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I am the hapless manager of the bank the guys decide to rob.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I got involved early during the casting process. I was fortunate enough to be the reader for all of the casting sessions for the movie. That enabled me to get to know the director and producers. It was a real treat.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Ruben is a great actor’s director and really encouraged everyone to make the characters and the way they talk their own. Lots of takes with improv, etc.

The film stars Jesse Eisenberg, Danny McBride, Aziz Ansari, Nick Swardson and Dilshad Vadsaria – with Ruben Fleischer onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I know it’s a pretty standard answer, but it was fantastic. Like I said before, Ruben is really fun to work with for an actor. Everyone involved is obviously very funny and Jesse playing the hero really helped to ground the whole thing, which is really important for a movie like this.

Let’s talk a bit about you Rick. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I was a musician and started singing. That led me to musical theatre and eventually I realized that working in front of a camera was where I felt the most comfortable.

You’ve been in a number of different TV series’ and films – which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

’30 Minutes Or Less’ by far. To be heavily involved with the project since the beginning of casting and then to be able to be a part of the finished product was very cool.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

I can’t stop listening to The Decemberists and the soundtracks for ‘The Social Network’ and ‘127 Hours’. I’m always a little behind when it comes to adding stuff to my iPod. I get too hooked to stuff I already have on there.

What’s the most interesting / funniest piece of news you’ve heard in the last month or so?

I have a 4-month-old. What’s news again?

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

My hometown outside of Philadelphia. The holidays don’t feel like the holidays until I’m back there.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

A movie that my friend Dave Parker wrote and directed called ‘ColdWater’ has just started playing festivals. I play a guy who asks his friend to house-sit for him for a couple of days. Of course, it turns out that the house may be haunted and things don’t go so well for the friend after darkness arrives.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

