Eleanor Wilson – (Episode 50 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to Eleanor Wilson about her role in supernatural indie movie ‘Episode 50’. Here, Eleanor talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Eleanor. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘Episode 50‘.

Thank you, Matt!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Two opposing teams of paranormal experts go head to head in the ultimate haunted location, one trying to prove the existence of life after death, and the other trying to debunk this possibility. Of course things don’t go quite as they expected for either team!

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned for Tess and Joe (directors) back in August last year. I had a conflict with another film, so it was looking like I might not be able to do it, but luckily they were incredibly accommodating, and we were able to shoot out all my scenes in the first three days (actually, nights!) of shooting. It was crazy, but I’m so glad it worked out.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Lysette is a mental medium who has been recruited by Dylan to be a part of team ASSC (Academia Spirit Searchers Club). She has also fallen into a relationship with Dylan, which somewhat clouds the decisions she makes and puts her in dangerous situations to help Dylan’s cause. At the heart of it, she’s a very sensitive young woman, looking for love and purpose and acceptance.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Well, to be honest I haven’t seen that many supernatural thriller/ horror films cause I’m a giant scaredy cat! So I don’t really have much of a point of comparison… But watching ‘Episode 50’, I really connected with the individual characters’ journeys and I liked that they really focused on that, and not just the scary bits.

The film stars Josh Folan, Chris Perry, Natalie Wetta, your good self and Justin Brutico – with Joe and Tess Smalley onboard as directors – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Joe and Tess were so awesome to work with. It’s such a luxury to have two directors! If one of them was busy with the camera department or whatever there was always another one free to talk about performance. They also have a strong sense of they own taste, which I feel is really important. You can see it in how cohesive the performances are, despite a lot of us having never even met each other. (Natalie and I have actually been in two films together now, but still haven’t met in person!) Normally you would get to meet the cast in a read through or rehearsal before shooting, but because of the super low-budget and accommodating everyone’s tricky schedules (especially mine!) we just didn’t have that luxury. But despite the rushed shooting, it was really fun. Keithen and I had a good chemistry in the audition process, so it made the short time we had on set really easy, and Justin is such a lovely relaxed person to be around so that made the late nights easier to deal with. And of course our location was so creepy that I didn’t have to pretend to be freaked out!

Let’s talk a bit about you Eleanor. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve always loved films and theatre. My parents brought us up watching a lot of classic old movies and musicals and I think that planted the seed.

You’ve been in a number of TV series and film based projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far, and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

‘Episode 50’ of course! But seriously, it’s hard not to fall in love with every project I do. In films, you get so close to everyone cause you’re working such intense long days and often away from home. So you end up creating these temporary families. I couldn’t pick one of those families over another!

If you could choose three guests to have to dinner, (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Well, I want to say The Beatles but there’s four of them.. uh-oh.. sorry Ringo! No just kidding, it wouldn’t be the same without him.

If I asked you to decorate a room, what colour would you paint it and why?

Depends on the room, the context of the room, so many things! My apartment is really just the way I like it, so I wouldn’t paint anything here. If I had the free reign of a new place though I would maybe skip the paint and go for some amazing wallpaper.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

Occupy Wall Street is going on in New York right now, so that’s really overwhelming a lot of the local news here. And Steve Jobs obviously died, that was big news. What a legacy.

What is coming up for you in 2011/12?

2011 is almost over now – can you believe it? I have two films that are coming out in 2012, ‘The Sleeping Bear’ and ‘The Confabulators’ so look out for those!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

