Andy Nez – (Final Destination 5 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Andy Nez about his role in ‘Final Destination 5’. Here, Andy talks about the use of 3D in the film, what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Andy. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Final Destination 5’ has finished its theatrical run and will be coming to DVD later on this year…

For those who haven’t had chance to see the film yet, what’s the general plotline surrounding this instalment?

Just like the previous films in this franchise, a handful of people cheat death because of a vision one of them has. They then spend the rest of the film trying to escape Death who is coming to “get” them because they’ve interfered with the way things are supposed to be. Fun stuff. Lots of cool deaths. That’s what everyone loves about these films. Me included.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

My character is pretty simple. I play the security guard at the gymnasium where the gymnastics “accident” takes place. I am clearing the area post-death and I get into a brief argument with two of the teens who just saw their friend die. I’m not a very considerate dude.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned for the role….and they picked me. Pretty standard stuff. 🙂

How would you say this film is different from it’s previous instalments? I understand they’re still using 3D like last time…

Good question… I’m not sure how it’s different. It’s the same basic formula. I think they’ve outdone themselves with the crazy deaths this time. And the 3D adds a dynamic to the movie. In my opinion, 3D is wasted and unnecessary on many films released today. But with this movie it works. It adds to the shock value of each of the “accidents” on screen. I would also say this film ends a bit differently than the previous movies, in that they tie the story back the very beginning of the first film. That was cool.

The film stars Nicholas D’Agosto, Emma Bell, Miles Fisher, Ellen Wroe and P.J Byrne – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Were there any, ahem, accidents?

I had the pleasure of working with Nicholas and Miles. They were great to work with. Very professional and easy to get along with. It was an emotional scene for Miles, and I had to interrupt it (part of the scene). It was a fun scene to play… Nick had to get all up in my face.

During the time that I was on set… there were no accidents or issues of that nature.

Let’s talk a bit about you Andy. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve always loved pretending. Make believe. Character stuff is my favourite thing – pretending to be someone or something else. That is what drew me into the acting world. I started with theatre and then gradually made the move into TV/film.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

I would say… it’s not an easy road. It’s harder work than you may assume. And in order to have even the slightest success you need to have unfaltering stick-to-it-tiveness, support of friends and family, and a decent amount of luck.

You’ve been in a number of TV series’ and films – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and which has been your favourite project to be a part of?

I just finished work on a Cartoon Network original series called ‘Level Up’ that is premiering in January 2012. I play one of the “bad guys” in one episode. The costuming and the make-up/prosthetics combined with the fight scenes and comedy of the character made working on this show a blast!! The cast and crew were fabulous and I wished I could stay longer.

Last summer I worked with Jennifer Love Hewitt on the Lifetime original movie ‘The Client List’. She was great to work with. And, while, I didn’t have any scenes with Cybill Shepherd… my time with her off camera was a hoot! She is hilarious and just plain fun to be around.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

The returning of Kienan Hebert by his abductor to his family safe and sound…. That was very emotional for me. I have three little kids and I cannot imagine a worse thing in life than having one of my children taken from me.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

Well, 2011 has been quite the year for me. A real rollercoaster, to use an already overused figure of speech. In January to March, I came THIS close to booking the role of Curly in the upcoming Farrelly Brothers rendition of ‘The Three Stooges’. 20th Century Fox flew me down to LA for screen tests. I worked very hard on the characterization and the voice. Out of the thousand or so actors from around the globe who they looked at for the part… I was one of their top couple choices. In the end Will Sasso was given the role. Good for him… I like his work. And I hope it works out well for him. But it still hurts… a bit. Ouch. Then, in May, my father died in an accident. That was difficult. And still is. Then recently, as I said, I worked on ‘Level Up’. I’m not sure what’s in store for me for the rest of 2011, but if the years ends the way it began, then I’m excited for what’s to come.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

