Zoe Naylor – (Robotropolis – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Zoe Naylor about her lead role in ‘Robotropolis’. Here, Zoe talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and about her acting career…

Hey Zoe. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Robotropolis’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Investigative reporter Christiane Noveau goes to do a live story about robots that have been integrated into a community. While conducting that report one of the robots malfunctions and kills a man. This is the start of a break down of apocalyptic proportions.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Christiane is a 60 Minutes/ CNN style journalist who has her own show. She has been working in this industry for years and is used to being at the coal face – seeing death is not new to her. She has been reporting from highly stressful environments for a long time.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was kindly offered the part.

How would you say this film is different from other sci-fi films? Would you say it’s a bit ‘Terminator’-esque?

Well it is a classic genre sci-fi movie – but we made it with 1/8th of the budget. It’s not perfect by any stretch but considering what has been delivered given the time and money we had, it’s great! There are some things I would have changed in my performance choices in hindsight. But that’s one of the downsides of low low budget film making – there is no time to deliver variation and get more coverage for editing.

The film stars your good self, Graham Sibley, Edward Foy, Lani Tupu and Jourdan Lee – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Everyone was great. We had a lot of fun making the movie and really enjoyed being in Singapore for the experience. What a wonderful country!

Let’s talk a bit about you Zoe. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I had always been interested in performance at school, but it was more a passion. After school I studied journalism and graduated with a Communications degree. At the same time I was enjoying small roles in various projects but really wanted the opportunity to think about it as a profession. I felt that I needed to attend drama school to do that. So I auditioned and was accepted into the QUT drama program. Three years later I graduated with a Masters in Fine Arts (Drama).

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

Know why you want to be an actor. Make sure it’s your passion. If you’re after fame and fortune you might be sorely disappointed. It’s a challenging industry in that it’s inconsistent. For every job you get there are many you don’t. You have to develop a thick skin to a degree. That’s not something I’ve been very good at. And I think at the end of the day to remember that whatever you choose to do – have FUN! Life is short and we can take it all a little too seriously sometimes.

You’ve been in a number of different TV and film projects – who has been your favourite actor/actress to work with, and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

Gosh – I can’t choose a favourite actor. There’s been so many. ‘Mcleod’s Daughters’ was a wonderful show to be a part of… it’s not every day you get to ride horses for a living. Most of the stories we told on ‘Mcleod’s’ were heart based and combined with the location it made it a very special place to go to work. I also really enjoyed shooting ‘The Reef’. It was my first lead role on a feature film and I found the nature of the story incredibly challenging to shoot. But I loved it! Have you seen it?

Obviously everyone in Australia knows you as one of the female judges in ‘Gladiators’, back in 2008 – who was your favourite Gladiator?

I was the co-host of ‘Gladiators’ with Tom Williams and we had a ball filming that show. Again, I can’t choose a favourite Gladiator – they were all so different. I loved the crowd enthusiasm and the little kids faces as their favourite Gladiators would enter the arena. When all those people would chant a Gladiators name it was electrifying.

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, (living or dead) – who would they be and why?

  • Annette Benning – I’d love to pick her brains about how she approaches the characters she plays.
  • Yogananda – the author of ‘Autobiography Of A Yogi’ – read this book, it will blow your mind!
  • Someone who could really tell me what’s happening in the world’s economy.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

A very eclectic mix of music. I love all music – from musicals to heavy rock and everything in between. It really depends on my mood.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

More of everything – acting, reporting, MC’ing, speaking, writing and hopefully producing my own show. I’ll keep you posted. xx

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

