Greg Cipes – (Vile – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Greg Cipes about his role in ‘Vile’. Here, Greg talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Greg. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘Vile’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

It’s about a group of people who are kidnapped and sealed in a house in which a woman on a video screen tells them they must torture each other enough to hit targets of brain chemicals caused by their agony, after which they will be set free.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was blessed to have my long time acting coach and director of ‘Vile’, Taylor Sheraton, suggest me for the role.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

The character is a very tortured soul. The best way to describe him would be masochistic and extremely vulnerable. It was a very dark character to play.

How would you say this film is different from other horror movies?

You begin to actually care about the characters in the film, because of the way they try to tackle the situation they’re in. It’s spitefully vicious as well as sensitive. It’s refreshing to have a horror movie that is also a character driven film.

The film stars Eric Jay Beck, April Matson, your good self, Heidi Mueller, Maya Hazen and Akeem Smith – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was really cool working with Eric because he wrote the movie and stars in it. He knew exactly what he wanted from every scene, and he brought it. The rest of the cast were friends before the movie was filmed, so it was more of a family affair. That really makes the on-screen time more enjoyable.

Let’s talk a bit about you Greg. How did you get into acting and voice-over in the first place?

I was inspired and supported by my family to follow my bliss. My grandma Selma Cipes was in Frank Sinatra movies and the film ‘Bad Boys’ with Will Smith. My grandpa was the wizard in the first ‘Super Boy’ TV series. I suppose it runs in the family. I started off doing plays and commercials at a very early age of 6 in South Florida. My love for voice-over started when my father and I would drive around the US in his camper, and I would mess around with truck drivers on the CB. My father looked at me and said, “Son, one day you’re going to do cartoons.” Fast forward, after high school I enrolled in UCLA for film making. After two weeks, I signed on to a pilot with Warner Brothers. At that moment, I decided experience would be my schooling and dropped out of UCLA. I have been a working actor and voice-over artist ever since.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the acting and voice-over industries?

Find yourself first, then bring yourself to the roles. Acting is all about living truthfully in every circumstance. It’s about being fearless in your choices.

You’ve been in a number of different TV series’ and game projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

I would definitely say Roseanne Barr has been my favorite actress to work with. It’s what she brings to every moment. Her ability to be present and aware has taught me how to bring it the same way she does. My favourite project ties between ‘Deadwood’ and the new ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles’.

If you could invite three historical people to dinner, (living or dead) – who would you choose and why?

Bob Marley, Jim Morrison, and Osho. I find that they have helped shape who I am more than any other figure.

What do you think the greatest invention of the last century is?

It’s actually something I invented: Wholesters. It’s an evolved gun holster concept designed to carry cell phones, wallets, etc. It makes life easier and makes everything you wear look cool. You can check them out at: www.wholesters.com.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

The most interesting thing is the fact that most news in America is manipulated propaganda full of lies to brainwash the masses.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12? I hear you’re in the new ‘Ninja Turtles’ series!

Yes I am! I am Michelangelo in the new series. I have the movie ‘Vile’ coming out along obviously, with ‘Deep Dark Canyon’ following suit. I’m also about to film a role in ‘CSI: Miami’ that I’m really looking forward to.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gavriel
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 16:26:15

    Hi Greg, Teen Titans are coming back?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

