Sarah Agor – (Hatchet II – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Sarah Agor about her role in ‘Hatchet II’. Here, Sarah talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Sarah. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘Hatchet II’ – which has just had it’s DVD premiere on 27th August 2011.

What can fans of ’Hatchet’ expect from this instalment?

Horror with spectacularly over-the-top demises sprinkled in with great little moments and humour.

How did you get involved in the franchise in the first place?

I auditioned, and I guess the majority agreed I was the best choice for the part.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

She’s an extroverted co-ed, breaking free from the drone of everyday mediocrity and just trying to feel alive.

How would you say this franchise is different from other horror franchises?

It is an expert encapsulation of horror meshed in with thrill and comedy.

The film stars Danielle Harris, Tony Todd, Kane Hodder and Parry Shen – with Adam Green onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Adam is an easy-going guy who was having as much fun directing as I was having. We tried a number of different ways and takes…from girl with daddy issues to a go-girl wanting to be famous, sloppy drunk, quasi drunk, shy….it was a good time…Tony Todd is a friend of mine – (whom I worked with in the movie ‘Night At The Silent Movie Theater’ – we both had lead roles that interacted a lot) but we didn’t have any scenes together in ‘Hatchet II’. I enjoy him tremendously as a person and acting partner. Perhaps in another flick we will work together again, rather than just be in the same movie.

Let’s talk a bit about you Sarah. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

While growing up my parents always took me into the city to see Broadway, off-Broadway, and Off-Off shows. I always loved the energy of live theatre, getting swept up in the story and lives of each character. When I had my “theatre debut” as Nancy in ‘Oliver’ in pre-kindergarten, I was hooked – not only by seeing people perform for me, but the feeling of becoming someone else myself! In high school, I took my first acting classes at the Stella Adler conservatory in New York and I realized that to be a great actor, yes you must have the talent, but it is a craft that can forever be honed and studied and exercised. I get bored by things that are too easy and I enjoy a good challenge…acting seemed like something that would keep me busy, entertained, and always present new discoveries for a long long while. I studied International Studies at one of the most notoriously difficult universities (to get into AND live through…the slogan is “Where fun comes to die”) and despite my 160K education and developing the tools and skills to snag employment in a noble profession that my parents would be happier to see me doing…I still just knew that I had a passion for acting.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

If you are willing to live, eat, breathe, sleep this industry…go for it. For many, it’s not the glitz and the glam magazines that TV shows portray the lives of film and TV stars as being…it’s a lot of work and dedication…and when you’re on set it’s crazy long hours and can be quite emotionally and physically challenging. I once was shooting a horror web-series for Atom Films (MTV web) and we shot all night from 11PM to 7 AM and I spent 5 of those hours bouncing in and out of the meat locker we were shooting in…it was FREEZING and I was clothed in a skimpy dress. Watch ‘Scream Queens’ on VH1 (I was in the first season) – we had to do some crazy stuff…I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to be covered in millions of roaches….and this was not for a fear factor type show…this was a scene James Gunn was directing me in!!!!

Who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and which has been your favourite project to be a part of?

Wow… I try to have a great experience with all the actors I work with but I think my favourite so far is Phil LaMarr. He was also in the movie I did with Tony Todd (‘Night At The Silent Movie Theater). Honestly, we shot that three years ago and most of my decision right now is based not only on our on camera experience but mostly our off camera connection. I remember, working on camera was a breeze and light and fun (it’s a romantic comedy), but we really hit it off in the down time. He inspired a chapter in the book I wrote and is a good friend. When I met my now boyfriend I recall spending an hour on the phone with Phil chatting and giggling on and on about love and sex and pudding, like those annoying girls you want to slap…too much info? Anyway, he’s had an inspirational career, he’s truly talented, and a wonderful wonderful person! My favourite project to be a part of…actually it was a theatre production I was in this past winter in called ‘Unscreened’. It was a night of 4 one-acts all written by a few of LA’s finest, rising, female writers. The show I was in was written by Leslye Headland (writer of ‘The Bachelorette’, ‘Terriers’) and I was playing opposite Sprague Grayden and Michael Layton. Some of the other cast was Michael Stahl-David (‘Cloverfield’), Jessie Williams (‘Grey’s Anatomy’), Shannon Woodward (‘Raising Hope’), Rachael Taylor (‘Charlie’s Angels’). I was volunteering and helping the writers in a read while they were work-shopping the pieces and turned out the director loved my take on the smart sassy 17-year-old I was playing in the read!!! I am honoured and grateful for the wonderful opportunity…the show is being commissioned to be a full length on Broadway; hopefully I’ll have first dibs in playing the role of Tal in the newest incarnation of “Tits”.

If you could invite three historical guests to a dinner, who are either living or dead – who would you choose and why?

Oh boy there are soooo many people I would want to meet…when I had to do this kind of a question in high school it seemed much simpler. I was silly and stupid and didn’t know as much and wasn’t impressed by the same things that I am today. I regret that I can’t do just three and when I entertain, I usually have a lot of guests – (it’s the Jewish mother in me)…so here is my Top 10 (not in any particular order).

  1. Hillary Clinton
  2. George Carlin
  3. Woody Allen
  4. Meryl Streep
  5. Philip Glass
  6. Jackson Pollock
  7. Steve Jobs
  8. Steven Spielberg
  9. Tommy Wiseau (every group needs someone to make fun of…laugh as I write this right now).
  10. Can’t think of the other….haha.

What does a Sarah Agor day usually consist of?

My days are consistently inconsistent, but there’s always too much to do to ever be bored. I usually have auditions so a good part of my day is spent running around LA doing one, two, or perhaps three auditions (let’s not forget to factor in sitting in atrocious LA traffic :(…I spend a couple of hours memorizing for my auditions and getting familiar with the words, the character, the scene etc…I’m also a writer and I’m working on a re-write of a short I wrote and that I am producing so a lot is going into doing all the pre-production work for shooting. I’m very excited for this passion project: Brad Henke is attached to play the lead and other very talented actors that I’m honoured to have on board including Gray Stevenson and yours truly. I am also part of a sketch comedy group …so on Mondays I meet with those guys to write and we shoot our sketches on Thursday. You can count on at least three new sketches up on LSR Comedy (YouTube), or check on sarahagor.com every week. I find financing for independent feature films so I’m always reading scripts and then on calls, e-mailing, or in meetings for connecting investors with the producers on the projects I select and feel passionate about wanting to be made. Not industry related, my boyfriend and a business partner are developing a web start-up and we hope to launch in early 2012, so my off time on weekends and late nights is dedicated to tickling my entrepreneurial whims.

What else is coming up for you in 2011/12? I hear you’ve got a computer game coming out!

Yes…’Twisted Metal’ is coming out…I forgot about that! I shot that a couple of months ago so in my head, I’m onto the next stuff! I was actually down in San Diego this summer for Comic Con as a short film I did (‘6Gun’/ Dir. Hebron Simckes-Joffe) was accepted into the film festival portion (it also just got picked up for distribution and the plan is to turn it into a feature); when I was there I saw some of the ‘Twisted Metal’ people (fyi the creator, David Jaffe is an AWESOME guy…really enjoy him…he’s super brilliant, soo successful, and just a dude who keeps it real! Love that.). So what’s next…well, I just booked an AFI film that I will start shooting in early November. I have the weekly sketch comedy that people are watching online, I booked a movie that Crystal Sky Pictures is producing, but I’m not sure of when it is shooting and same thing for the movies ‘Yaksha’ and ‘Released’. ‘Released’ is special to me though as the writer/producer asked me to consider the role after watching my work on ‘Scream Queens’ (his last movie also starred Danielle Harris from ‘Hatchet’!). It’s a fantastic script and now I am also working on helping to find financing for it…so if you know anyone who loves horror movies, GOOD ones (this is a great script with interested distributors and name attachments) send them my way!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

