Ben Probert – (How To Stop Being A Loser – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Ben Probert about his role in ‘How To Stop Being A Loser’. Here, Ben talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and about how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Ben. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘How To Stop Being A Loser’ is currently in limited cinemas right now.

Hello, you are more than welcome. Thank you for being interested in my career enough to have this interview with me.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie… 

‘How To Stop Being A Loser’ is a warm comedy about James who is, (by all accounts) a loser who decides to take hold of his life after his good friend (played by Richard E Grant) dies. Eventually, pick up artist Ampersand comes to James’ rescue and teaches him the way of the woman. But as James learns the dark art of seduction from his mentor he begins to wonder if Ampersand is all he  appears to be and questions what would truly make him happy in life. I play Patch’s brother in the film, although it is not a huge role. He is a quiet and sensitive guy but when James (Simon Phillips) causes a scene and drags Patch from the funeral of Richard E. Grant’s character, he is the first to chase him from the scene.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

I was called in by Nick Thomas-Webster, who thought I would be great for the part. I am now working closely with Nick on multiple other projects.

How would you say this film is different and unique?  

There have not been many truly funny British films to be released over the years, and this one is going to turn that around. Especially after seeing the effect of Adam Deacon’s ‘Anuvahood’. Simon Phillips is an excellent actor and this is the first role he has had to show he can play a comedy part, and from what I have seen he does it excellently.

The film stars Richard E. Grant, Colin Salmon, Billy Murray, Keeley Hazell, Gemma Atkinson, Martin Compston and Martin Kemp, with Dominic Burns onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?  

It is a great all-star cast, and was brilliant to be around such talented people who have taught me so much, Dominic Burns proved to be a great director and it was great at times just to watch him work. And who could complain about spending time with the beautiful Gemma Atkinson.

Let’s talk a bit about you Ben. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?… 

Well since I can remember I have always wanted to act, I started young, studying drama in school and went onto acting classes. I then went onto writing and learning scripts and filming them myself for various showreel’s. It didn’t take long before I was on-sets working my way up from an extra to now. I have just completed a feature ‘For My Brother’ where I play the third lead.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry? 

My only advice could be, is to never to give up. It is a very tough industry to work your way into and it doesn’t hurt to be stubborn and just turn up to talk to people. At the end of the day, it’s not what you know but who you know. 

What is currently on your I-Pod right now? 

I actually have a various selection of music on my I-Pod at the moment, I like to have a variety for whatever mood I may be in. I’m loving a mixture of Explosions In The Sky, Linkin Park and Nickelback at the moment though. 

If I asked you to decorate a room, what colour would you paint it and why? 

It would have to be bright, either a bright green or orange. I like a lot of colour in my life as it helps me to stay productive and keep in an upbeat mood. 

What’s the most interesting/funniest piece of news you’ve heard in the last month or so? 

This is a very hard question to answer, as there has been so many interesting stories to arise over the last month – but to keep it light and funny it would have to be an article I read a week back: one in five British women believe that the debilitating “man-flu”  disease – which temporarily leaves sufferers prostrate on the sofa watching televised sports – is in fact real, according to a new study.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12? 

Well the premiere of ‘For My Brother’ has just passed so I am onto a lot of new projects. ‘Revival’ is the big one which begins in January (but I can’t give too much away). I played the lead in a funding trailer for ‘The Final Days Of Scott Rogers’ and even though I wasn’t cast as the lead for the film, I do have a rather large part alongside a massive cast. Also the premiere of ‘Tsume Go’ is coming up in December in which I play a doctor. All in all 2012 is shaping up to be a big year for me and I can’t thank everyone enough for supporting me so far in my career. 

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Keeley Hazell @ Premiere of Paramount Pictures’ “Like Crazy” in Los Angeles, Oct 25 | Celebrity HQ Pics

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

