Staci Lynn Fletcher – (30 Minutes Or Less – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Staci Lynn Fletcher about her role in ’30 Minutes Or Less’. Here, Staci talks about what it was like working with Jesse Eisenberg and Aziz Ansari and about her life as a comedian…

Hey Staci. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘30 Minutes Or Less‘.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

It’s a very funny movie! Two wannabe criminal master minds, (Danny McBride and Nick Swardson), looking to make some quick money, kidnap a pizza delivery guy, (Jesse Eisenberg), strap a bomb to his chest and force him to rob a bank. He enlists the help of his best friend(Aziz Ansari) – and comedy ensues.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I am an overworked cashier at The Family Dollar Store where Jesse and Aziz come to buy their bank robbing equipment. Can you believe that they came to a Dollar Store for that????

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was living in Chicago at the time and the movie was being filmed in Michigan about 5 hours away. My agent called and asked if I’d be willing to drive to Michigan to audition for the film. When I found out that Ruban Fleischer was directing it, I jumped at the chance. Ruban was there and he put me through my paces! I had to do that scene forwards, backwards and sideways. I was sure that I’d tanked the audition but a few days later,I got the part.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Besides having me in it? (-:

The film stars Jesse Eisenberg, Danny McBride, Aziz Ansari, Nick Swardson and Dilshad Vadsaria – with Ruben Fleischer onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to meet the rest of the cast. My scene was with Aziz and Jesse. They were great! Aziz had us laughing between takes with his off the wall ab-libs. Jesse was nice also. He’s a little on the quiet side. At least he was the day we worked. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Ruben. He’s an awesome director.

Let’s talk a bit about you Staci. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Wow, I’ve been acting in some form or fashion for as long as I can remember! I am a television junkie. As a child, I would watch my favorite sitcoms and imagine it was me on the screen. I would act out my favorite scenes afterwards and make up story lines that involved writing me into the show. I’ve always wanted to be an actress. I did the high school drama club route, and went to Columbia College to study acting and then ran to Hollywood to become a famous actress.

We should mention that you’re also a stand-up comedian – what advice would you give to anyone wanting to get up on stage?

My advice to anyone wanting to get up on the stage is to get up on the stage! That first time up is nerve wrecking and exhilarating. The longer you wait to go up,you’ll come up with all sorts of reasons to talk your self out of it. Also, know what you’re going to say. Learn the mechanics of telling a joke and making your story funny and interesting.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Adele, Adele and Adele. I can’t get enough of her right now.

If you could have three guests to dinner, (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

That’s a tough one…Let’s see, the first would be my deceased husband. I’d want to talk to him about our daughter and have him see how incredible she is. The second would be my deceased aunt. She took my sister and I to see live theatre when we were kids. I remember seeing ‘The Wiz’, ‘The King And I’, ‘Annie’ and we saw ‘The Nutcracker Suite’ every year! It wasn’t Christmas without it. I’d love to talk to her about how those trips to the theatre affected me. The last person…I’ll leave that space at the table open for now.

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

Favourite holiday destination??? Anywhere where I can chill, turn off my responsibilities for a bit and be me.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

Can you believe that 2011 is almost over?? Wow. I just moved back to Los Angeles after living in Chicago for about 6 years so I’m working on working more as an actress and comic. After being away for so long, it’s almost like starting over. Luckily, my scene remained in ’30 Minutes Or Less’. That’s been helpful.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

