David C. Hayes – (Little Big Boy – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to David C. Hayes about his role in ‘Little Big Boy’. Here, David talks about how he got involved in the project and which three guests he would invite to dinner…

Hey David. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your role in ‘Little Big Boy’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Well, I’m a little unsure there. I haven’t seen the film totally and Kim Sonderholm was working under a secret plotline, but I believe that Jimmy Duncan, a renowned director of horror film, slaughters some people and the film community reacts to the violence.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Kim and I have known each other for some time via the internet. I shot a small piece to be included in his Tour de Force film and my short, ‘Undone’, appears in Kim’s ‘Horror Vault III’ anthology.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Gladly! I play the most handsome, intelligent and talented individual on the planet… myself. I play myself and comment on how I know Jimmy Duncan and can’t believe he would do such horrible things.

How would you say this film fuses both comedy and horror together?

I’m not quite sure yet. When I see the whole film I can give you an answer on that one.

The film stars Kim Sonderholm, Brandon Slagle, Gry Bay and Monique Gata Dupree – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Lol. I wasn’t on set with any of them. My DP, Gregg Elder, shot my bit in our studio in Arizona and we sent it to Kim for inclusion.

Let’s talk a bit about you David. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Happenstance. I’m a writer by desire, but the opportunity presented itself one day and I decided to try my hand at acting. It’s an interesting little thing, that’s for sure. I prefer, though, to lump all my obsessions together and call it storytelling.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Prepare to be hurt. Rejection is a natural output of life, but in this industry it is an absolute necessity. No one can be in or write or direct everything and no matter how good you think you are, you need to realize that your opinion doesn’t matter… we are judged, daily, by producers, critics, audiences, etc. That is something that you have to live with.

We should mention that you’re an actor, writer, producer and director – do you find it hard to cram everything in your lifestyle or is it just a normal day at the office?

A normal day and night at the office, lol. I haven’t slept very well in about a decade.

You’ve been in a number of TV series and films – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

My favorite actor to work with, so far, has been Jeff Dylan Graham in ‘Bloody Bloody Bible Camp’. Not only is he good, he is so much fun to be around. I also think that ‘Bloody Bloody’ was the most fun, too. Ron Jeremy, Reggie Bannister, Tim Sullivan, me, Vito Trabucco…good times!

If you could have dinner with three historical guests (living or dead) – who would you choose and why?

JRR Tolkien, Bram Stoker and HP Lovecraft. I would just want to listen to them talk about storytelling and narrative structure. That would rule.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

There are thousands of people protesting Wall Street in New York right now and half of America doesn’t know it because it isn’t being reported.

I left this question till near the end – is it true your first ever on-screen love scene was with an inflatable woman? What happened there?!

Yes. It was a film called ‘Blown’ about a possessed blow up sex doll that goes on a killing spree at a bachelor party. We develop a relationship before she kills me and we consummate that relationship in a shower scene. Horrific.

What’s coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’re in a number of projects!

2011 is light, film-wise. ‘Predatory Instinct’ and ‘The Frankenstein Syndrome’ just came out on DVD. 2012 is looking good but I don’t have any dates yet, sorry!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

