Rachelle Glait – (The Theatre Bizarre – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Rachelle Glait about her role in ‘The Theatre Bizarre’. Here, Rachelle talks about what it was like working on her section of the film, and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Rachelle. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘The Theatre Bizarre’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? I understand it’s split into segments?

Yes, it’s what could be called an “omnibus” film – six segments linked together as if they were shows in a strange theatrical entertainment: ‘The Theatre Bizarre’. I play a character in one of these segments, Karim Hussain’s “Vision Stains”.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Serendipity? I knew Karim’s film work and his reputation as one of the prime movers of the Fantasia Film Festival. Then my agent told me about an audition…

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

The idea behind “Vision Stains” is that there is a woman who is addicted to other people’s memories. She gets her fix through the vitreous fluid of her victims’ eyeballs. I play a homeless woman whose memories she wants and the way she gets them is to pierce my eyeball.

How would you say this film is different from other horror movies?

Well, first of all the omnibus format – six stories told in six different styles. Between them, I would say that the entire spectrum of horror cinema is covered. There’s something for every taste.

The film stars Virginia Newcomb and Udo Kier, with a variety of other cast members – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Well, the segments were filmed on separate sets, sometimes in different countries, so my contact with cast and crew from the other segments was minimal. But I did get to meet several of them later, at the film’s premiere in Montreal, and it was a delight.

Let’s talk a bit about you Rachelle. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

When you’re young, to be an actor seems like an utterly glamorous endeavour. But acting school (the National Theatre of Canada) quickly disabused me of the “utterly” part: it’s hard work. On the other hand, the rewards – being able to create a character and use her to move an audience – are marvellous.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

It’s one part glamour and nine parts hard work. If that ratio doesn’t faze you then go for it.

You’ve been in a number of different projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

I’ve worked with many terrific actors, but if I had to pick one it would be Aidan Quinn (on ‘The Assignment’). Kind, professional… a gentleman.

What does a Rachelle Glait day usually consist of?

I’m mostly on the other side these days; I teach drama in high school, I’m a casting director at a Montreal theatre (the Segal Centre), and I direct or assistant direct for the stage. Every day is different.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

Not news, as such, but I’m always intrigued by the fast pace of change in the cinema. I wonder what it will be like in 25 years. Could anyone have predicted the Internet 25 years ago?

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

I am currently a cast member and assistant director of a marvellous new (stage) production of Peter Shaffer’s Equus. It’s in the middle of its run as I utter these words. I’ll need a vacation when it’s over.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

