Lauren Petre – (The Woman – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Lauren Petre about her role in ‘The Woman’. Here, Lauren talks about how she got involved in the project, and about what it was like working with the cast and crew…

(Credit: BCJ Photography / Brian C. Janes)

Hey Lauren. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘The Woman’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

(from Bloody Disgusting. http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/film/4486)

The Woman is the last surviving member of a feral clan that has roamed the north-east coast for decades. When the last of her family is killed in a battle with the police, The Woman finds herself alone, severely wounded and vulnerable. Unfortunately, she is now a far too easy prey for local hunter, successful country lawyer and seriously disturbed family man Christopher Cleek. With his twisted set of ideals, Cleek decides to embark upon a deranged project – to capture her and “break” The Woman – a decision that will soon threaten the lives of Cleek, his family and The Woman.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Miss Hindle, the girlfriend of Miss Raton (Carlee Baker), who is the teacher of Peggy (Lauren Ashley Carter) – one of the Cleek children.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I met Lucky at a screening of ‘Offspring’ (the first movie of Pollyanna McIntosh’s Woman character) at Modern Cine Scarefest in my home state of Michigan. We kept in touch, and they had planned to return to shoot the sequel, ‘The Woman’. They ended up shooting the film in Massachusetts, so I followed them out there to work on it.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Like most Lucky McKee films this film is different and unique because he brings different and strong women characters to the horror genre. The lines between the monsters, who are humans, and heroes also blend in all of the characters. It is intelligent horror, with great writing. Beyond that concept it is different because it takes risks with the story, and the characters. The sound design is exceptionally brutal. You are as equally disturbed by what you are seeing as what you are hearing.

The film stars Pollyanna McIntosh, Carlee Baker, Shana Barry, Angela Bettis, Sean Bridgers and Marcia Bennett – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

The cast and crew were all passionate about working on this film and working with Lucky. He brings something out in not only the actors, but in everyone who is involved. Everyone gave it their all in working on this film. It was a very friendly and supportive environment. Getting to work with Angela Bettis was a highlight for me. ‘May’ is such a unique film and character, one of my favourites.

Let’s talk a bit about you Lauren. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have been writing plays and movies and acting in them since I was five in my grandma’s family room (for our extended family). I also played with her VHS video camera. I always wanted to act professionally, but being in Michigan I never knew how I could make that happen. Three years ago, Michigan had a film tax credit, and many films came, and were made there. I decided to follow my dream. My first time on a film set, I worked as Drew Barrymore’s stand-in on her directorial debut ‘Whip-It’, and several films with stand-in work followed. I kept taking acting classes, and doing whatever I could do, including hours of background work on various movie sets to learn all I could about the industry.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Be patient, learn to live with uncertainty, and don’t let fear of rejection prevent you from even trying.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, William Elliott Whitmore, Chapstik and The Moth storytelling podcast.

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, living or dead – who would they be and why?

I can tell you three musicians/bands that I wish I could have seen play live and never got to, but I can’t come up with anyone I would want to have dinner with – Pantera with Dimebag Darryl, Nirvana with Kurt Cobain, I never heard Aretha Franklin sing, but there is still time for that.

What’s the most interesting piece of news you’ve heard in the last month or so?

I don’t have cable TV service, and stay away from the news, it just causes worry about things you can’t control.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

‘The Woman’ is in AMC Theatres opening October 14th in the US, It opens in the UK on September 30th, and I will also be in another horror/sci-fi movie called ‘Sucker’ coming soon. I live in L.A. now, so who knows what could happen next, there are so many possibilities.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

