Wolfgang Meyer – (Little Big Boy – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Wolfgang Meyer about his role in ‘Little Big Boy’. Here, Wolfgang talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Wolfgang. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your role in ‘Little Big Boy’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

From what I understand, the film is about the rise and fall of this known director. I haven’t seen the film yet , but I do look forward to watching it.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I got asked by Brandon Slagle to do this scene with him for the movie.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play an up front and shrewd interview talk show host that seems to get Don Holland (Brandon Slagle) upset by the questions I hit him with. He has a meltdown.

How would you say this film fuses both comedy and horror together?

Like I said I haven’t had the chance to see the full movie, but I did get some peeks at the trailer and some clips online. I think it’s an interesting concept and would have to answer this questions at a later date.

The film stars Kim Sonderholm, Brandon Slagle, Gry Bay and Monique Gata Dupree – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was a fun thing to do and just the way the scene was created and the costumes we wore was just awesome. I’m proud to be a part of this film cause it has a lot of good people in it and I’m really interested to see the movie. Kim makes movies and has the passion to do it and I really support his film. I know he might be mad that I haven’t seen ‘Little Big Boy’ yet , but I will.

Let’s talk a bit about you Wolfgang. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I really have a passion for feature films and even though I don’t consider myself a full-time actor I like taking a part or a role and doing it. I got back into acting 7 years ago in New York. I was mainly going out and working as an actor and managed to get a few indie feature film parts and TV work. I started meeting people and it has continued on from there. I do like acting and I prefer to stick to parts that I fit into and I can completely change for each film I do. I like the challenge of trying to look and be that role or character.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

My best advice is if they really want to do this, be an actor or work in film – just never give up. You’re going to have to learn to suffer and get through hard times. There are ups and downs and if you can survive through all of it and still keep doing what you love then you fit right into this industry. I would also say it’s up to you how far and what level you want to be at. It takes a lot of work to find work and be involved in films. It isn’t an easy industry and it takes work and passion and working with all different people.

You’re also a producer, writer and director – do you find it hard to cram everything in or is it just another day at the office?

Directing, producing , and cinematography are my true passions. I pretty much have been focused in the last three to four years on making movies and working in the production area. That’s why I don’t act as much either cause the films I’m doing take three to four months of my year to work on. I can manage to do whatever job I take on with everything else going on around me. It really is just another day at the office and I’ll do this work everyday for the rest of my life.

You’ve been in a number of TV series and films – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

This question kind of makes me take a long hard look back at everything I’ve worked on since the day I said I was quitting my regular job to work in the film industry. My IMDB is not even my full credits, only the credits for films that have been released and that were finished in good time. The thing I’m going to say about this question is I have worked and been to so many different places and met so many people that it is really just one amazing journey. I’m pretty happy about all the projects I’ve worked on. One day I would love to write a book about the experiences of all the sets and of all the projects I worked on, so many memories and stories. But two of my favourite acting roles are Tow Truck Driver in ‘Cut’ and Lazar in ‘051 Confidential’.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

To be honest I really don’t watch or follow the news. I don’t watch TV either. I mostly work on films and watch movies. I personally don’t like to hear the downfalls and misfortunes and tragic elements going on. The world is a huge place that has so much crazy shit going on. I’ve got one life to live so I spend my time doing other things.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

Well I have a few films I’m currently working on. I can’t release too much info, but I’m going to be working as a cinematographer soon on a film called ‘Disciples’, directed by Joe Hollow. The other project I’ll announce is a 12 part series and it involves a turtle. That’s all I’m going to say now. I am finishing up films from the past that need to get picked up so I’m getting the post work done. So the rest of this year I’m keeping it pretty light so I can finish up work that was started and not finished. The last secret I’m announcing is a short film I’m going to also direct. I’ve never directed a short but this is something I designed and want to shoot this year.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

