Rick McCallum – (Hatchet II – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Rick McCallum about his role in the newest instalment of the ‘Hatchet’ series. Here, Rick talks about what fans can expect from ‘Hatchet II’ and about his career as a stunt performer…

Hey Rick. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘Hatchet II’ – which had it’s DVD premiere on 27th August 2011.

What can fans of ’Hatchet’ expect from this instalment?

A lot of tremendous kills by Kane, and some answers about who Victor Crowley came to be.

How did you get involved in the franchise in the first place?

Kane had me on as Assistant Stunt Coordinator on ‘Hatchet’, then Adam Green asked me to play the silent hunter, John.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play one of the hunters who go after Victor Crowley in the swamp. My character is the strong silent type. My partner is Colton Dunn, who is hilarious.

How would you say this franchise is different from other horror franchises?

The kills are more inventive, and lots of horror icons appear in the franchise as characters. Adam Green has a vision of what he wants the franchise to be, with a lot of surprises.

The film stars Danielle Harris, Tony Todd, Kane Hodder and Parry Shen – with Adam Green onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Everybody was so cool, there were no egos at all, it really was like a family. Working with Adam Green is a lot of fun because he is so passionate about what he does. There is something very cool about a director who will jump up and cheer a scene because he liked it so much. Not only that, Adam treats everybody, and I do mean everybody well, like they’ve been friends for years, I think that’s why so many of the legends of horror want to work with him.

Let’s talk a bit about you Rick. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I was kind of pushed into it…a lot of stunt roles require some acting.

Who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

Has to be Kane Hodder, we’ve done a lot of films together…best advice? Don’t hit on the extras.

If you could invite three guests to dinner, (either living or dead) – who would you choose and why?

Jesus, Lincoln and Einstein…just think of the questions you could get answered!

We should mention you’re also a stunt performer as well – how did you get into this part of the industry? What has been your favourite stunt to do?

I started off as a cop outside Chicago, where they didn’t pay well and shot real bullets at you, so using the benefit of my college education, I realized that in stunts they pay more, you get to hang around pretty, talented people, and best of all, they shoot fake bullets at you. My favourite stunt was being thrown from the hood of a car into oil barrels…and yes it hurt like hell.

What’s the worst injury you’ve had so far?

It wasn’t an injury, but I’ve got my bell rung twice pretty good. Once, on ‘Dark Wolf’ going into the barrels, I had blood coming out of my ear when Robert Pendergraft, (who did all the make up FX on Hatchet 2) took off the werewolf head I had on, and the other was when I landed on my head on a concrete slab off a mini tramp on ‘Project Metal Beast’. Wait! Kane was involved in both of those!

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

Kane and I founded a group called the Hollywood Ghost Hunters, so that takes up a lot of my time, and I hope a few projects I’m supposed to do come through.You can hear Kane and I, and a couple other HGH members on the George Noory radio show on Halloween, and I’m really looking forward to reading Kane’s book, ‘Unmasked’, which comes out October 1st, it tells a lot of stuff about Kane that people don’t know, including me, and I’ve known him for 30 years!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

