Paul Chambers – (McGruder And The Loch Ness Bone – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Paul Chambers about his role in ‘McGruder And The Loch Ness Bone’. Here, Paul talks about how he got involved in the project and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Paul. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘McGruder And The Loch Ness Bone‘.

My pleasure.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

A bone from the Loch Ness Monster is found by Professor Leach’s dog, McGruder, and is shipped off to LA (with McGruder protecting it) to be tested in Los Angeles. Evil millionaire, Barry Hughes, has his henchmen steal it and he takes it into his possession. Upon hearing the news the bone has been stolen, a bumbling detective in LA called Ernie Lemmon, just happens to find McGruder (but doesn’t know he’s the professor’s dog) and together they try to get the bone back.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the evil millionaire, Barry Hughes. He is quite the collector of ancient artifacts and upon arrival of the Loch Ness bone he feels great affection for it.

Do you believe in the Loch Ness monster?

No. The only thing I know about it is the photo you see on the internet. That doesn’t prove anything to me.

How did you get involved in the movie in the first place?

I submitted myself online for an audition. After I auditioned they said something like, “We like you very much. You’re just what we’re looking for but we do have more actors to see.”

The film stars you, Al Burke, Anna Curtis and Allen English – with Markus Innocenti as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on the film? Must have been nice to film in Scotland…

The film’s writer, Michael King, also stars in the film as the bumbling detective, Ernie Lemmon. The director, Markus Innocenti, plays Professor Leach. It was a great pleasure working with them all. No divas or difficult people. We had a great Director of Photography as well, Henryk Cymerman. Unfortunately, all my scenes took place in Los Angeles so I did not get to go to Scotland.

Let’s talk a bit about you Paul. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I guess you could say it’s in my genes. My grandmother was a singer in Vaudeville and my mom was an actress. I started acting in high school productions and then went on to study acting in New York City and Los Angeles.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Have a plan B to fall back on. I highly recommend getting a college degree – not in acting. No matter how talented you are there are not enough acting jobs for all the talented actors out there!

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests – living or dead – who would they be and why?

John Kennedy with Jackie by his side because he remains one of our greatest Presidents. John Adams because of his relentless spirit to make our country free. I’ve been to the Independence Hall in Philadelphia, PA and was just awestruck knowing I was in the same room the Declaration of Independence was signed in! And Job (from the Bible) because if there is anyone who can help me through the difficult times it would be him.

What’s been the most interesting / funny news story you’ve heard about in the last month?

I don’t really keep up with the news. But I can tell you about the funniest thing I’ve done in the past month. I’m in a show right now called, ‘Snooty and the Beast’, at the All American Melodrama Theatre in Long Beach, CA. There is a point in the show when I am supposed to sing to Belle Bottom, “Let me lighten up your life till you’re the Masters’ wife.” But what came out instead was, “Let me lighten up your life till you marry the Master’s wife.”

What is coming up for you in 2011?

Currently I am in, ‘Snooty and the Beast’ at Long Beach, CA. I am looking forward to the release of a few films I have done, ‘McGruder and the Loch Ness Bone’, ‘Against The Grain’, where I play a surgeon, and ‘Trigger Finger’ where I play a court judge.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

