Josh Folan – (Episode 50 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Josh Folan about his role in supernatural horror movie ‘Episode 50’. Here, Josh talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on the film and what’s coming up for him in 2011/12…

Hey Josh. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘Episode 50‘.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Two competing paranormal investigation teams are deceptively cajoled into investigating an abandoned insane asylum together for the fiftieth episode of one of the teams’ television series. Things of course go awry.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned the old-fashioned way.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Jack, the lead investigator on a paranormal investigation team with a philosophy founded in debunking claims of paranormal activity as merely being misunderstood instances of easily explained scientific phenomenon.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It’s a found-footage approach to the horror-thriller genre that has still yet to be tapped to its fullest extent, and I think we executed it pretty well. Hopefully audiences agree.

The film stars your good self, Chris Perry, Natalie Wetta, Eleanor Wilson and Justin Brutico – with Joe and Tess Smalley onboard as directors – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was a small cast and crew and a low-budget filmmaking environment, and there are always a number of obstacles to overcome. When that is the case things can often get a little tense as a result. That said, we were able to work through the little quibbles that arose and came out of it with a great working relationship and hopefully with what is received as a fun film.

Let’s talk a bit about you Josh. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

It more so got into me than me getting into it. I went to school for business, (finance specifically), and worked in that field briefly after getting my degree. At the same time I had been doing some small modeling work and some pictures made their way out to an agency here in New York, so after flying out and spending a few semi-fruitful weeks shaking hands and kissing babies in that realm, I decided to make the permanent move to NYC. Not long after doing so, I booked a gig with Comedy Central on Greg Giraldo’s old ‘Friday Night’ stand-up/variety show that was kinda-sorta an acting job. That snowballed into getting my first acting agent and an interest in taking some acting classes. I booked a small recurring role on the soap opera ‘All My Children’ not long after, and I’ve been fortunate enough to work steadily since.

We should probably mention that you’re also a producer, writer and a director too – do you find it hard to juggle all these jobs about, or is it just a normal day at the office?

The producing comes easy to me – it’s a natural role to take on with my business background. Writing is the hardest aspect of this business by far, in my opinion, and even after having produced two feature-length scripts I’d be hesitant to say I’m even close to being “good” at it yet. Directing is a role I just tackled for the first time with ‘What Would Bear Do?’ and that came to be more so as a necessity than a desire to be a film director. The project was a comedy script I wrote in very much my own brand of humor, and I just didn’t trust anyone else to execute the material to its fullest, that being the case. As for the acting, I’m fortunate enough to have an approach to the craft that is very much a “hit your mark, look the guy in the eye and tell him the truth” (an ad-libbed Cagney quote there), a just do it mentality, which allows for me to step behind the camera and do my directing and producing jobs between takes without much trouble.

You’ve been in a number of TV series and film based projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far, and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

Steve Guttenberg, hands down. We spent a month locked in an RV in the Turkish dessert while filming ‘Ay Lav Yu’, and I’ve never met an actor with a better, more positive attitude to the chaotic day-to-day requirements that being an actor filming on location involves. He also has an absolutely fucking hysterical sense of humor.

If you could choose three guests to have to dinner, (living or dead), who would you choose?

Film producer Jerry Weintraub, actor Jack Nicholson and filmmakers Mark & Jay Duplass. They have to count as only one – they’re inseparable.  Haha.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

While filming ‘What Would Bear Do?’, I was turned onto the bands Foster the People and Noah And The Whale by one of my co-stars, and they have been pretty steadily on repeat since getting back to New York a couple of weeks ago. I also just saw the Ryan Gosling-led ‘Drive’ last night, and I walked out of that and immediately downloaded the soundtrack on my phone.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

I avoid current events like the plague – I find the news to be terribly depressing, for the most part. But the Buffalo Bills being undefeated at 3-0 does have me pretty fired up.

What is coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’ve got two projects you wish to plug!

‘All God’s Creatures’, a dark love story between a serial killer and a prostitute (Twitter @agcfilm), is indeed just hitting the distribution phase – you can order the DVD at http://www.allgodscreaturesfilm.com and it will soon be available on a number of VOD platforms all over the internet. 

‘What Would Bear Do?’, a slacker buddy comedy about two guys dragging their girlfriends into the woods to make a submission contest video of them all “surviving” for their survival reality television idol (www.whatwouldbeardofilm.com – Twitter @wwbd_film), was just wrapped on 9/17, so expect to see it everywhere early 2012.  Beyond that, I have a number of projects in development with my production shingle NYEH Entertainment (www.nyehentertainment.com – Twitter @nyehentertains) and am always just one investor’s check away from shooting the next indie masterpiece.  Feel free to email me at joshfolan@nyehentertainment.com if you would like to write said check!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

