Blaine Anderson – (Final Destination 5 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Blaine Anderson about his role in ‘Final Destination 5’. Here, Blaine talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Blaine. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Final Destination 5’ is currently in cinemas right now…

Thanks for having me! Yes, ‘Final Destination 5’, let the carnage begin!

For those who haven’t had chance to see the film yet, what’s the general plotline surrounding this instalment?

Well the general outline for the ‘Final Destination’ movies is that usually a group of young adults escape death by way of some sort of tragic accident, then “death” refusing to be cheated relentlessly hunts them out. In this instalment, the major accident at the beginning is a crazy bridge collapse.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a Crime Scene Technician who tries to explain a very convoluted death scenario.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Your standard audition… wait around… then get hired!

How would you say this film is different from its previous instalments? I understand they’re still using 3D like last time…

This was my first part in a 3D film so it was interesting to see the enormous rigging used for the 3D camera, must say it was quite intimidating standing in front of that thing. Well, it’s clear that in this instalment they had a lot of fun marketing the film. The viral video ‘New Romance’ gives a little glimpse into what I’m talking about.

The film stars Nicholas D’Agosto, Emma Bell, Miles Fisher, Ellen Wroe and P.J Byrne – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Were there any, ahem, accidents?

Actually, I didn’t get to work with any of those actors but I did get to work the handsome and talented Courtney B. Vance (‘Hamburger Hill’, ‘The Hunt For Red October’) He plays Agent Jim Block. What a great guy, probably one of the easiest going actors I have ever met. We both have kids, so we talked about child rearing techniques and family life a lot, and our beautiful wives. I’m sure my wife and his (Angela Bassett) would have laughed to hear us one up each other on our significant others. As far as accidents go, I think everyone walked away from set with all their limbs and life intact.

Let’s talk a bit about you Blaine. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Born and raised in Vancouver, it was on the stage of the Arts Club theatre with a friend of mine Dave Collette, performing a play called Lone Star. On-stage that night, I fell in love with storytelling and losing myself in the moment. How freeing it was! I like a challenge and there is almost nothing scarier than doing all the things that one needs to do to become a great actor.

You’ve been in a number of TV series’ and short movies – who has been your favorite actor to work with so far and which has been your favorite project to be a part of?

I played a police officer in ‘The Betrayed’, and watching Melissa George during my brief time working with her was memorable, she is as beautiful as she is talented. My favorite project is tough to say but I’ve done a few projects out in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and definitely ‘Little Claus – Big Claus’ was a turning point in my career, a Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale where I played Little Claus, a good-hearted rogue. And ‘War Poet’, which you can check out at: http://youtu.be/QRI1Yz6Ruqo

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Let me look… Lost Fingers, Beastie Boys, the Game of Thrones audio book and a hypnosis track on relieving stress.

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, (living or dead) – who would you choose and why?

I’ll break it down for myself too…one entertainer, one political figure, and one personal.

  • First off, I would sit with Peter Sellers and drink ourselves silly and laugh my ass off.
  • Then I would have dinner with Julius Caesar, just to see what kind of man could conquer the world.
  • I would then have dinner with my dad, he passed away when I was 6 and I would like to talk about all that’s happened since then.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

The kidnapping and return of Kienan Hebert.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

My short film ‘Men in Mind’ will be hitting the film festival circuit shortly, no idea which festivals yet, but the Los Angeles Movie Awards Festival just awarded my film Best Editor and Honorable Mention. Keep an eye out for it!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

