June B. Wilde – (Final Destination 5 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to June B. Wilde about her role in ‘Final Destination 5’. Here, June talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on the ‘plane scene’ and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey June. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Final Destination 5’ is currently in cinemas right now…

For those who haven’t had chance to see the film yet, what’s the general plotline surrounding this instalment?

Survivors of a suspension-bridge collapse learn there’s no way you can cheat death.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

In the first ‘Final Destination’ movie there was a plane crash and in this instalment there is also a plane crash. I’m the one who asks the question as to why some of the kids get off the plane before take-off. I am assuming that those who got off the plane will star in ‘Final Destination 6’…

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

My wonderful agent called me to audition for this role and within an hour they had pinned me for the part. Three days later I booked it.

How would you say this film is different from it’s previous instalments? I understand they’re still using 3D like last time…

Yes they are still using 3D like the last time. I think the difference in this instalment is there is a little more character and relationship development. There is more conflict. The coroner tells them that if they kill someone they might have a chance at cheating death and surviving and this concept adds a lot more intrigue to the character’s final destination.

The film stars Nicholas D’Agosto, Emma Bell, Miles Fisher, Ellen Wroe and P.J Byrne – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Were there any, ahem, accidents?

No accidents, thankfully! I mainly worked with Nicholas and Emma who were terrific in their roles and an absolute delight to work with. The days were very long and the 1st AD Paul Barry moved everything along very nicely with a warm sense of humor. My hair stylist Andrea Simpson and my make-up person Krista Seller were also superb at their jobs. In general, Vancouver crews are highly skilled and excellent at their jobs. Steve Quale directed a wonderful cast. The airplane was set on a gimbal and on “action” a huge fan would blow bits and pieces of debris into the airplane and on “cut” everyone laughed. We had a great time with the special effects!

Let’s talk a bit about you June. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

At eight years old I knew I wanted to entertain. I remember performing in a play and everyone laughed when I threw a teddy bear in the air. I was hooked. In high school I won an award for playing Annie Sullivan in ‘The Miracle Worker’ and after I graduated I performed in as many projects as I could get my hands on. I auditioned for and got accepted to The American Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York City. After my training I returned to Vancouver and started my career in film, television, theatre and voice-over. My only wish is to inspire people with stories of hope; that they may get in touch with feelings they never knew they had, and that my presence might be an opening for their own personal healing.

You’ve been in a number of TV series’ and short movies – who has been your favorite actor to work with so far and which has been your favorite project to be a part of?

Colin Firth was my favorite actor to work with. I worked with him on ‘Hope Springs’ and he is absolutely the most giving movie star I have worked with to date. I love so many projects I have worked on but ‘Good Luck Chuck’ was one of many that stood out. I was hired as an actress and while shooting both Mike Karz, producer, and Mark Helfrich, director, said, and I quote “…besides having a role in our movie, we were so impressed with June’s fast grasping of the intent of each scene that we hired her as an acting coach to train one of the novice actors in the film”. I spent a good portion of that summer working on the film and in November while I was working on a show in Los Angeles, Mark Helfrich invited me to the editing suite to see some of the preliminary edits. It was very exciting.

What do you think the greatest invention of the last century is?

The internet. The vast amount of information available to everyone is astounding. The ability to communicate with anyone who owns a computer is amazing too. I used to pack my suitcase with demo tapes, photos and resumes to go to screenings, film festivals or make my rounds in Los Angeles. Last November I went to Toronto with business cards. I still cannot believe that I can hand someone a card with my website address on it and my entire acting career is available to them. It’s incredible!

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, living or dead – who would you choose and why?

  • Carol Burnett because I have been a fan of hers since I was nine years old. I always dreamed I would star in a show like that.
  • Tiger Woods because I am fascinated by people who excel in their professions, especially athletes. I am intrigued by how he uses his mind and practices his faith in his golf game. It is equally fascinating to me how a person can rise to fame and then lose it all because of ego.
  • Kevin Spacey because he can play heroes and villains with equal believability and ease. He is an incredible actor.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

Kienan Hebert, a three-year old boy, was kidnapped by a suspected abductor Randall Hopley from his home in Sparwood, Britsh Columbia. The community came together and conducted a massive search for the boy who was returned within the week to his home without anyone noticing. It is heartwarming to know that Randall did the right thing. Any situation where there is a coming together of community and spirit with a resulting miracle is fascinating to me.

What’s coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’re currently filming a project right now!

I am currently up for a role in a feature film called ‘The Company You Keep’ directed by and starring Robert Redford. I am in pre-production for a ½ hour comedy about several women who own and work at a Doggy Daycare. I am also in the preliminary stages of creating a feature film based on my mother’s life.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michael Barry Anderson
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 10:12:37

    Hey Matt! This is a fantastic interview. June B. Wilde is my acting coach and she inspires me constantly. She truly is a class act, a brilliant actress, and a magnificient human being.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

