Joleigh Fiore – (Hatchet II – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Joleigh Fiore about her recent cameo role in ‘Hatchet II’. Here, Joleigh talks about her experiences working on the original and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Joleigh. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film ‘Hatchet II’ – which has just had it’s DVD premiere on 27th August 2011.

What can fans of ’Hatchet’ expect from this installment?

Fans of the original are just going to love the film as it’s double the guts, gore, comedy and cameos..

How did you get involved in the franchise in the first place?

I auditioned for the film years ago and Adam Green and I vibed really well with each other. I felt bringing my New York attitude to the character really showed a different side to Jenna…

Of course, you were in the original ‘Hatchet’ – tell us a bit about how your character, Jenna, develops in this instalment…

In the original, Jenna is an aspiring actress who wants nothing more than to be famous even if that means doing cheesy videos and exposing herself ala “Girls Gone Wild”…she thinks that by doing these so-called movies that her natural talents will soon be discovered and she will be the next Julia Roberts…she meets a “director”, Doug Shapiro and decides to tag along with him and another aspiring actress Misty, and their excursions lead them to Mardi Gras in Louisiana where Jenna and Misty’s adventures soon take a turn for the worse as they are lost in a swamp on a haunted ghost tour. They discover that Shapiro is really some creepster named Sam Barrett and this whole thing was a setup to get lewd content of the girls for his own perverted use…knowing this, she is so consumed by all this that she is back to square one with her career. Of course, you then have the drama that unfolds in front of the audience and so it becomes about her trying to save herself by running from the undead ghost of Victor Crowley…which by the way doesn’t end so well in Jenna’s favor. Two words.. Belt Sander…

‘Hatchet II’ focuses on the return of a new gang to the swamp and Jenna makes a cameo by lost footage found on Shapiro’s camera…I had such a blast and am fortunate to have worked with such amazing people.. Mercedes (Misty) and I have remained the best of friends and I look forward to working with all my ‘Snatchets’ (our coined term) in the future!…

How would you say this film tries to be different and unique to both it‘s predecessor and genre?

It takes all the guts, gore and nail-biting associated with it’s classic genre but then mixes in some great comedy and awesome one liners to make even the most serious of horror fans have a laugh.

The film stars Danielle Harris, Tony Todd, Kane Hodder and Parry Shen – with Adam Green onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set again?

It was just like we never had time apart! We are all so close and went through all the long hours of shooting and body mangling makeup to the point where we became a little family. Tony, Kane, Parry and Adam are the most amazing group of men and I was thrilled to have Danielle join the cast as I am a TRUE MICHAEL MYERS OBSESSED FAN!!…that’s where my obsession for horror first started…’Halloween’, Freddy, Jason and of course ‘Candyman’… so to have worked with the cast from all of my favorite movies is honestly nothing short of AMAZEBALLZ!!

Let’s talk a bit about you Joleigh. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Again being a die-hard horror fan I knew I wanted to make movies like that… I would scare the living crap out of my mother by acting as if I was hurt running from something or pretending to be Norman Bates and creep up in my mother in the shower with a knife.. yeah funny now, not so funny then lol! I was actually evaluated in first grade for writing about all of my favorite horror movie killing scenes… thankfully my mother assured them it was harmless and I didn’t really want to kill anyone. Rita Hayworth has also influenced me tremendously as my grandmother who has passed away used to call me “Rita” as we watched her movies together and she used to say that one day I would play her in a film.

Also Jim Carrey has always been such a huge influence in my acting career…I used to and let’s be honest still do impersonate all of his classic characters…Fire Marshall Bill, Ace Ventura, Dumb & Dumber…you name it…I just LOVE that man…he is a genius!! I can’t wait to work with him!! I am determined to make that happen!

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

PATIENCE, PATIENCE, PATIENCE!! Have faith and stick with it if this truly is your dream…don’t give up and don’t let the haters bring you down…YOU control your destiny! It may take a while but you NEVER give up!!! Also know your craft…study! Be prepared to take it seriously…it may seem like fun and games and glamorous…which is true – but it is also extremely hard and requires discipline, heart, thick skin, who ya know and of course PERSISTENCE!! I sound like a motivational speaker geez!!

You’ve been in a number of different TV series and film projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with and which TV series has been your favourite to guest-star on?

I absolutely have to say how lucky I am to have worked with such amazing actors…by far Robert Englund has been the best – but Val Kilmer is right up there! Both men are just examples of pure genius. They have that star quality that you always hear of. They walk into a room and you know a star is there without the “star” attitude.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Lots if things…everything from Black Eyed Peas to Wu Tang to Adele to Skynrd to Metallica to High School Musical.. Yes I said it HSM!! What can I say I’m secretly a kid at heart slash geek!

In your opinion, what has been the most important invention of the 21st century?

I will have to say the Internet obviously but more specific the video chat programs such as Skype or I-Chat…I have most of my family in NY still and it’s a great way to keep in touch and avoid home sickness…also I will have to say SPANDEX!! They make your figure flawless for those camera ready moments…a true gal’s best friend!

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

Lots of things actually…I’m preparing to play the role of one of my idol’s Rita Hayorth…it’s an opportunity of a lifetime and a grueling process as well but also an amazing one…I am very excited for that and can’t wait! Also, I have a play in the works called “Wheeling And Dealing” where I’ll be starring opposite Jonathan Kite who is a hysterical actor starring in CBS’s new sitcom “Two Broke Girls”… I play an assistant with a big NY accent and attitude to match to a big time Hollywood agent…it’s a great story with comedy, drama and heart.

Also I’ve decided to cut my last name in half since so many people were having a hard time with it. So I now go by the name Joleigh Fiore, I think it has a better ring don’t you? Just kinda flows better in my opinion…

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

