Laurie Love – (Little Big Boy – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Laurie Love about her role in ‘Little Big Boy’. Here, Laurie talks about how she got involved in the project and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Laurie. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your role in ‘Little Big Boy’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

To tell you the truth I haven’t even seen the movie yet. But what I do know is that it’s a mockumentary about Jimmy Duncan, a film director, who goes mad while making his film “Death Stalker” and is sent to prison for murder.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Actually, another cast member and good friend David C. Hayes contacted me about the role through Kim Sonderholm. I was told about the film and the eclectic cast that would be involved and I liked the fact that I would be able to film in Arizona where I live. I love horror movies and being able to act as a journalist was fun because I had originally wanted to major in Journalism when I was first going to college.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the character Cindy Smith, she is an on the scene news reporter who is reporting live at the prison where Jimmy Duncan was incarcerated.

How would you say this film fuses both comedy and horror together?

From what I have heard and read, I think the film has to be looked at with a sense of humor due to the way it is laid out. It pokes fun at directors with egos and actors with no talent. You know, exploiting normal everyday situations in the film business. There is also the horror plotline following the Jimmy Duncan character as I’ve said. So, I believe that the horror aspect and comedy aspect runs side by side.

The film stars Kim Sonderholm, Brandon Slagle, Gry Bay and Monique Gata Dupree – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I didn’t have the opportunity to work with the cast and I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting them in person yet as my scenes were shot in Arizona and placed into the storyline. I did meet Lloyd Kaufman in person at AFM last year; he is a very nice and funny guy.

Let’s talk a bit about you Laurie. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

My earliest memories of being asked, “What do you want to do when you grow up?” was answering that question with, “I want to be an actress!” When I was a child my Dad had built our house with a cut out hole in the wall that looked like a stage. It was there that I would turn my childhood books into stage-plays, I would invite my family to my plays, pin blankets up for curtains on the sides and sell tickets, where my little sister and all our stuffed animals were the cast and crew. I transcended into film in my early college days when I was cast in several short films for film competitions, years later I am co-owner of an independent film company.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

I could give a lot of advice being on both sides of the business. The first bit of advice I would give is to be professional! The business is an art but it is still a business so make a good impression. It does help to know people in the business so if you make a good impression on those whom you work with your likelihood of being recommended is that much greater. On a side-note, the movie pokes fun at the proverbial casting couch. Ladies – you don’t have to give a blowjob to get a role, you have to be good at what you do.

You’re a writer, producer, director and of course – actress. What’s your secret tip for juggling all those things together? Is it hard to do?

Being slightly insane helps…just kidding. I like to see myself as an ultimate multi-tasker. You have to have the drive and inner strength to juggle multiple hats in the film business. Also, being able to work with little sleep helps. Quite frankly this business is hard but that is what I love about it. It is not as glamorous as people may think with the long days and sleepless nights. But when you are doing what you love it is not a job at all. I enjoy a challenge and every day there are challenges to overcome when working on a script to acting in a scene, to producing a feature film.

You’ve been in a number of shorts. How important do you think the indie industry is right now? I suppose it’s vitally important to you, in your career – due to ‘Blood Moon Rising’ being a short, which was turned into a feature film two years later…

I believe the indie industry is vitally important right now. With the economy the way it has been and the growing need for content now, it gives the indie filmmaker a better chance of providing content than in previous years. I believe there is opportunity for independent filmmakers work to be seen more now than ever.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

A local girl for her birthday (that happened to be on 9/11) was doing a fundraiser for the soldiers overseas with boxes from home. Instead of birthday presents she wanted to give back instead of receive. The gesture was heartfelt and gave me hope in humanity. I find her kindness inspiring and hope many others would be influenced by her generosity to do the same. I did.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

This year my horror comedy ‘Blood Moon Rising’ – the ‘Directors Cut’ with 25 minutes of deleted scenes – will be released around Halloween. ‘Dirty Little’, a neo-noir thriller has a street date of Nov. 8th2011. ‘Sweetwater’, a drama I produced is now in post-production and will be submitted to Sundance. Finally, ‘Crushed Velvet’, a steam-punk sci-fi thriller I starred in is in post-production and will be released in 2012. Furthermore, I am working on a book titled ‘Setiquette’, a guide for beginning actors and set-etiquette. I hope to have it published by next year.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

