Michelle Boback – (Deus Ex: Human Revolution – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Michelle Boback about her role in the newest instalment of the ‘Deus Ex’ franchise. Here, Michelle talks about everything ‘Deus Ex’ and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Michelle – thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Deus Ex: Human Revolution’ is finally out in gaming stores right now. It looks so good.

For anyone who hasn’t had the chance to play it yet, what’s the general plotline?

The story follows Adam Jensen, an augmented ex cop, as he tries to find who attacked the offices of Sarif Industries. While he’s chasing that mission, he starts to uncover and discover a conspiracy that’s, ‘…Rosetta stone big’ – (to quote Megan).

Tell us a bit about your character and what role she plays in the ‘Deus Ex‘ universe…

Megan Reed is an ambitious scientist who makes a ground breaking discovery regarding augmentation. You could call her a genius. A lot of the feedback from fans is that she’s a bit heartless at times! My Twitter account has had an onslaught of Megan hate mail. It’s pretty funny.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned for it. I didn’t know anything about it, except that it was an Eidos Montreal game.

We should mention that your spouse, Elias Toufexis – plays the main lead in the game, Adam Jensen. Does it feel strange to be playing alongside him, especially given the fact the two characters start off as ex-lovers?

Elias and I have done a lot of work together. It’s never weird working with him. It’s always a treat. Besides, he does such a great job as Adam, that it was easy to imagine him as someone else.

In ’Deus Ex’ language here – you could be ‘augmented’ with some sort of special ability – what would it be and why?

Hmm. I think I would like the pheromone augment. It would be great to be able to get my way all the time! Haha!

Let’s talk a bit about you Michelle – what made you want to get into acting and voice-over in the first place?

I sort of fell into voice acting. I did classical theatre for a long time, and was a singer for a recording artist for years. Then one day my husband was like, ‘why don’t you try voice overs?’ So, I put together my voice demo and my career took off. I had years of studio work behind me and I know that helped. I was already super confident behind a microphone and in a studio setting.

Which actors and voice-over artists have inspired you as a person?

A lot of different actors for different reasons. Some that come to mind right now are Meryl Streep, because she’s a chameleon and so good it hurts. Emma Thompson. Reese Witherspoon (‘Walk The Line’ made me love her).

You’ve been in a bunch of shorts and TV series’ – which actor has been your favourite to work with so far and what has been your favourite project to be a part of?

‘Day Before Yesterday’ is one of my favourite projects that I’ve worked on. I won a Best Actress award for it, so maybe that’s why! During that film I worked with a super popular French actor named Jacques Godin. He was a real pro in every way. He had this presence about him that made it so easy to trust him. That’s one of my favourite experiences with another actor so far too. That and knocking out Kevin Sorbo in my super tight alien leotard.

If you could invite three historical guests to dinner – who would they be and why?

Joan of Arc – was she really crazy or really special? I’d like to know. Madonna…oh, she’s not dead yet….um…..Cleopatra, again, was she really crazy or very special. and my Grandma, because she’s historical to me.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

There are a few projects in the works, which I’m not allowed to talk about. Sorry! Also, Elias and I had a baby a year ago, and so far, I’m enjoying being a Mom! And no, she has no augments!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

