Lynn Cole – (Quarantine 2: Terminal – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Lynn Cole about her role in ‘Quarantine 2: Terminal’. Here, Lynn talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on the project and which three historical guests she would invite to dinner…

Hey Lynn. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me – ‘Quarantine 2: Terminal’ has just had it’s DVD premiere in the UK on 15th August 2011.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the character ‘Bev’, a passenger on the doomed red-eye flight. I am a caretaker for ‘Doc’, who has advanced Parkinson’s disease. He can hear and comprehend people, but he can’t speak or move, other than small eye movements. This leads to some nerve-wracking scenes later on in the film.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

My Atlanta agent called me and asked me to submit a video audition. I was called back, and got to read for the wonderful John Pogue, writer and director of Q2. Because I only have a few lines, I got to improvise, which was fun, especially when he asked me to “be infected.”

I’ve seen the trailer – how would you say this film is different to other horror films? Obviously, it’s set on a plane….

Well, the segment on the plane is my favorite part. It gives the viewer a really claustrophobic feeling, as they are trapped in a small space, up in the air, and there is nowhere to escape.

The film stars Mercedes Masohn, Josh Cooke, Mattie Liptak and Bre Blair – with John Pogue onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew? I imagine it must have been pretty confined in places…

We spent a lot of time shooting in the shell of a plane. There was only one day that it got to me, and that was when we had to sit there for 12 hours straight. I think the segment on the plane is really well done. You have to remember that this plane is not really moving, so when we are fighting turbulence, it was done completely with camera movements and the cast having to jerk around. It looks really realistic! Mattie Liptak, the kid, is so wonderful in this movie. He has a great arc from beginning to end, and his work is really honest. You will see more of him, I promise. Mercedes, Josh and Bre were some of the select cast members brought in from LA, and most of the cast and crew were local – from Atlanta, Georgia and the south-east US. The whole cast was fresh, extremely talented, and worked really well as an ensemble. It was one of the best experiences I have had in this business!

I’ve heard rumour of a needle scene in the film – what can you tell us about that?

Two words: Needle. Eyeball.

Let’s talk a bit about you Lynn. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I fell in love with the performing arts in high school. I started off as a singer/dancer, then moved to New York City and attended the American Academy of Dramatic Arts. That’s where I developed my love of acting. I have been doing it ever since, and that has been over 20 years now!

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Study, take classes, watch good actors and examine what it is that makes their work so compelling. Be honest and make friends with your emotions, they are your bread and butter. Get professional headshots and a resume. When you are looking at agents, run from the ones who ask you for money. Don’t give up, and don’t let anyone tell you you’re not good enough! Believe in yourself and be unstoppable.

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, living or dead – who would they be and why?

  • Jesus Christ – I would ask him if all those things they wrote about him were true, and would he have done things differently if he could?
  • Wayne Dyer – I think in the future he will be looked upon as one of the great spiritual philosophers of our time.
  • Anna Nicole Simpson – just because I would love to witness her conversation with Jesus.

What has been the most interesting / funny news story you’ve heard in the past month or so?

In order to protect my optimism, I do not watch the news.

What is coming up for you in 2011?

I am also a professional body painter, and have some interesting projects on the horizon. I am also planning a spiritual excursion to Sedona, Arizona, a very powerful place.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

