Julie Gribble – (Quarantine 2: Terminal – 2011).

I recently managed to get the chance to talk to Julie Gribble about her role in ‘Quarantine 2: Terminal’. Here, Julie talks about how she got involved in the project and about her music career…

Hey Julie. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me – ‘Quarantine 2: Terminal’ is currently out on DVD. The plotline surrounds a group of people who must band together in order to survive the deadly effects of a mysterious virus being unleashed on a plane.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Susan is six months pregnant, she’s a little too aware of her surroundings sometimes, and can be quite stubborn – but she loves her husband, Nial. They are on their way to her sister’s wedding. She’s very caring but can be quite intense.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

My agent forwarded me for an audition, and while I was in LA shooting for ‘The Late Late Show’ with Craig Ferguson, they called me back to Atlanta and from then on it was a pretty quick process.

I’ve seen the trailer – how would you say this film is different to other horror films? Obviously, it’s set on a plane….

It’s not like your average horror film, there’s a lot to it. I think John did a great job really developing the characters, so there was a little something for everyone in the audience to relate to – which makes it more devastating when things happen..

The film stars Mercedes Masohn, Josh Cooke, Mattie Liptak and Bre Blair – with John Pogue onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew? I imagine it must have been pretty confined in places…

I was very lucky…this set was amazing. Everyone hung out, laughed, went to karaoke on Wednesdays, no one had any crazy attitudes, it was great! And yes, it was very hot. Griffin, GA, in the summertime – is not the most comfortable place to be, but no one complained as we were all grateful to be there!

Let’s talk a bit about you Julie. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I started acting at such a young age, it was a huge part of my life. My mom got me into classes when I was five and I always loved the theatre. It wasn’t till later in my life that I started to want to do film / TV.

Which actors/actresses have inspired you as an actress?

I’d have to say people like Jodie Foster, Sally Field, Julianne Moore…they are so true to their characters, honest, and they have seemed to stay away from the crazy manic life that we see so much in Hollywood.

We should probably mentioned that you’re also a music artist as well – can you tell us a little bit about that?

I started doing music about 8 years ago, it was really a moment that I said to myself – “I wanna learn how to play this guitar” so I started going to open mic nights and writing down on napkins the way people played chords…that’s how I learned. I was lucky and had great friends and mentors along the way….and then Craig Ferguson (who was a customer of mine at the coffee shop I worked at every morning in LA ) gave me a huge shot to come on his show and perform!

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, living or dead – who would they be and why?

Such a hard question…..my grandmother…now that I’m an adult I really would love to pick her brain, she was a very influential woman, smart, and ahead of her time. Shakespeare…no explanation needed there…and any of the great poets.

What is coming up for you in 2011?

I am working on a new record, shooting some music videos, starting a campaign against domestic violence…and hopefully lots lots more!

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. wle
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 14:55:22

    go julie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

