Caroline Boulton – (Toothache – 2011).

I recently got the chance to have a quick chat with Caroline Boulton about her role in ‘Toothache’. Here, Caroline talks about how she got involved in the project in the first place and about her upcoming projects…

Hey Caroline. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Toothache’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Toothache’ is a nightmarish tale about your worst possible trip to the dentist. After a nitrous oxide accident, delirium sets in and the dentist and patients slowly become drugged and hysterical with gruesome results.

Tell us a bit about your character in the movie…

I play Nurse Alex Smyth – the deranged surgical dental nurse. We merged several visual influences from ‘The Rocky Horror Picture Show’ with character elements from ‘The League of Gentlemen’ to create a complete oddball and extreme character – which is always fun to play!

How would you say this film differs from other horror films released this year?

The director’s Lars and Oscar are very dedicated to Swedish filmmaking but were keen to cast English actors. I should think it will be the most gruesome Anglo-Swedish-dentist horror collaboration of the year!

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was contacted by the directors and invited to Sweden for the filming. I was happy to be involved especially having seen the work Lars had previously directed for Swedish television and cinema.

The film stars Sofia Brattwall, your good self, and Jason Denyer – and has Lars Gustavsson and Oscar Malm both onboard as directors – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

All the cast and crew were fantastic to work with and the locations we filmed at in Sweden were stunning. We were based in a wooden house in a very isolated area in the middle of winter so it was thick snow, frozen lakes and woods all around. There was a huge abandoned hotel next door and wolves howling in the woods at night. It was so dramatic and atmospheric it all contributed to a great shoot. We made a lot of snowmen in between scenes and had lots of snowball fights with the crew!

Let’s talk a bit about you Caroline. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Whilst I was studying for my Masters in Film Art my teachers who were all working film directors encouraged me to consider applying for drama school afterwards. I was already heavily involved in improvised comedy and stand up but loved acting so I took their advice, successfully auditioned and it’s what I’ve been doing ever since.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

It’s such a privileged job and I’ve been very lucky in my career so far to work on so many exciting international projects and film in some very cool locations and collaborate with many great directors. My only advice is work very hard and always be polite.

What music is currently on your I-Pod / CD music system?

I’m a big fan of Tori Amos so all of her albums. Also loving Sigur Ros.

You’ve had a number of different roles on a range of different projects – who has been your favorite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

I’ve been so fortunate to have worked with some very well-known and established actors. Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Nick Frost were both great fun on the set of ‘The Boat That Rocked’. I find that you can learn the most by just working alongside other actors and observing their techniques as every actor brings a fresh approach and it’s always good to learn new methods.

What does a Caroline Boulton day usually consist of?

Coffee first! That’s the most important thing. If I’m filming I will get picked up very early and driven to the studio or location and then straight into make up and hair and costume for that days scenes. If I’m not filming and have a day off I will try to catch up with friends or go horse riding, something I’ve been trying to master recently!

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

I’m currently filming on location in Budapest so the most bizarre news I heard here was that the local brewed beer was cursed! I’m sticking to coffee.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

For the rest of the year I’m on location in Budapest filming the role of Sister Elizabeth in the TV series ‘World Without End’ produced by Ridley Scott. It’s the sequel to the 7 time Emmy and Golden Globe nominated ‘Pillars Of The Earth’ and it premieres in the US in July 2012 and then the UK in the Autumn of 2012. The series is based on the best-selling book by Ken Follett and is directed by Michael Caton-Jones. The cast includes Cynthia Nixon, Miranda Richardson, Charlotte Riley and Peter Firth among many other exceptionally talented actors. I can’t give too much away yet but it promises to be a hugely exciting series so I can’t wait till you can see it!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

