Erin Soto – (Wreckage – 2010).

I recently got the chance to have a quick interview with Erin Soto about her role in horror film ‘Wreckage’.  Here, Erin talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on the film, and about how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Erin. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Wreckage‘ has just had its DVD premiere in the UK on the 22nd August 2011.…

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

It’s a great slasher film! A group of young adults are in a drag race when their car brakes down. They decide to go to a nearby junkyard to find parts for their car. Only problem is, a serial killer is on the loose.

Tell us a bit about your character in the movie…

My character enters in an important part of the film. It gives a little insight into why the killer is the way he is and creates a little sympathy for the lead. Guess you’ll have to watch it and find out what that important moment is! J

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I’ve been fortunate in this town to be in the right place at the right time. I was at a screening, and was in conversation with the writer/producer. Still needing to complete the project, I was asked to do one of the roles.

The film stars Aaron Paul, Justin Allen, Mike Erwin, Jake Frigerio and Kelly Kruger – with John Mallory Asher onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I really liked the “family” feel of the set. It seemed everyone wanted to be there, and had a common goal for a good product. Some friendships were developed in that project. I mostly worked with upcoming actor Jake Frigerio who was such a trooper. It is so hard to be on set all day as a kid and he hung in there like a champ. He was very committed. The crew was awesome. Would love to work with them again!

Let’s talk a bit about you Erin. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Oh wow! Well let’s say that I was the kid putting on plays in the garage when I was little. My mom was a dancer, so I have always been around the arts. It was one of those things I did for fun, and decided to take more seriously when I got some scholarship money to go to school in theatre arts.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

Love, love, love what you want to do. If you do not love it, choose something else! But to those who do love it, be persistent. It takes hard work and dedication to succeed in any aspect of life. It is the same for acting.

If you could have dinner with three historical guests – alive or dead – who would they be and why?

President Obama – regardless of preference to party, it would be an honor to meet with the President. It takes a lot of work to get there, and there is always something to learn from someone of that achievement. Gandhi – need I say more? Bing Crosby – growing up I used to do tap dances with him on TV. I would kill to do a duet with his young self!

You’ve been in a number of shorts – how important would you say the indie industry is at the moment?

Very. In the beginning, it’s important to get your feet wet and understand the process of filmmaking. When I show up on any set, I want to be 100% confident that I am prepared. That being said, there is some amazing indie filmmaking going on right now that is competitive to get into. With all our technology today, those projects are becoming more prominent. I believe the industry is moving in that direction.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

Weather of all things. There was a 5.8 earthquake on the East Coast of the United States. There was a lot of turmoil over there, as they are used to hurricanes and storms. It makes you wonder how much we really know about our planet and what it’s going to do next.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

2011 is great! This summer I was competing in an improv competition for 3 months and made it to the top 7 out of a couple hundred before I got kicked off. Considering it was my first real attempt in that genre, I was very pleased to make it that far. I was fortunate to book my first voice over gig for an animation to come out at the end of 2012 and have been dabbling in modelling. I’m getting some wonderful people behind my career, so I look forward to the present, and what is ahead!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Daily Actor

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

