David Chrysanthou – (The Inbetweeners Movie – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to David Chrysanthou about his role in ‘The Inbetweeners Movie’. Here, David talks about what it was like working on-set with the cast and crew, his own exploits during 6th Form and how he got into acting in the first place…

 

Hey David. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘The Inbetweeners Movie’ is currently in UK cinemas as of 17th August 2011. The film focuses on Will, Neil, Simon and Jay, four socially troubled eighteen-year-olds from the south of England – going on holiday to Crete.

Nice to meet you Matt.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a character called ‘Nicos’. He has a very exciting job…he’s a waiter who probably makes a killing during the summer – both work wise and with the ladies. He is the boyfriend of Allison (played by Laura Haddock). He’s a decent looking lad who has no trouble wooing the girls. Nicos is all that stands in the way of Will’s character getting closer to Allison. I don’t think he’s necessarily a bad guy – I think he’s just bored really.

How did you get involved in the movie in the first place?

I auditioned for the part and was thrilled to hear when I got the job!

Who is your favourite Inbetweener and why?

It would have to be Simon (played by Joe Thomas). Bless him – he is so naive and does his best to be a regular cool guy but as we know he almost always fails and lands himself into some kind of embarrassing situation. His reactions are so funny to watch and you just can’t help but like him.

The film stars Simon Bird, James Buckley, Blake Harrison, Joe Thomas and Emily Head – what was it like working with the cast and crew on the film?

It was a pleasure working with everyone involved. All of the cast were very down to earth individuals and absolute professionals when it came down to business. The jokes were in full flow off camera just as much as on camera – which I think shows just how well the guys were cast and the great dynamic they have going on. The crew made the whole experience so enjoyable I forgot I was working half the time.

The TV series concerned the boys exploits during 6th Form – what do you remember about your 6th Form days?

I actually moved from Birmingham to London during my 6th Form years and it was an exciting time of adapting to a new city. Trying so hard to get my driving licence ASAP was memorable. And then picking up 3 points within a month of driving for fitting 9 people into an old Fiat Punto was funny. Played a lot of pool when I should have been studying. A friend of mine also thought it would be funny to jump from a second floor window only to land right in front of a bunch of teachers smoking on the ground floor. The look on their faces was priceless. Good times.

Let’s talk a bit about you David. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Acting had always appealed to me from a young age – the chance to become other characters was a very adventurous idea to me. Films are massively inspiring and the idea of going to work to play on sets and different locations around the world if I’m lucky is the perfect job to me. I decided to take it seriously when I was about 20. I wanted to get some quality training, so I did a Masters for one year at The Central School of Speech and Drama and I’ve never looked back.

Who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and who has given you the best advice?

One of my favourite actors to work with so far is Robert Sheehan (Nathan from ‘Misfits’). Not only is he a good lad but his energy on set when he does his thing is outstanding. A really explosive actor. He’s a natural at what he does and I think he has the potential to be a massive star in the years to come. In terms of advice, Jo Brand. An underestimated piece of advice I think: ‘remember to be yourself’.

We should mention that you’ve been in a number of shorts – how important do you think the indie industry is at the moment?

It’s massively important especially for starting out actors who aren’t fortunate enough to know the right people from the get go. I think it’s where a lot of the best and most unique ideas originate from before hitting the big screen. Film makers can take more risks without having some kind of quota to fill or someone breathing down their necks. For an actor this can only mean great things. Getting your teeth into interesting subjects and getting the opportunity to meet new people and warm you up for bigger projects – is fantastic.

If you could have a dinner with three historical guests, living or dead – who would they be and why?

I’ve thought about this one many many times and I have a huge list! However for you Matt I will say first of all Richard Pryor. One of the funniest people who ever lived and an amazing actor to go with it I might add. Didn’t hide anything about himself from the audience. His self-deprecating style was pretty revolutionary at the time and really made you warm to him. Secondly Muhammad Ali. Massive inspiration. His flare, personality and skills were incredible. I wish more athletes were like him these days, a good role model I think. Last but not least Carl G. Jung. A fascinating man with some profound ideas. I’d like him to analyse me and see what his hypothesis would be. I think we’d have a lovely chat amongst the four of us.

What is coming up for you in 2011?

Now that ‘The Inbetweener’s Movie’ is out I’m sure it will open up doors for me. I’ve been auditioning for a number of new projects recently so I’m happy to be busy. Watch out for a music video by Hollie Cook called ‘Walking In The Sand’ where yours truly is playing the mysterious male lead. I have a few short films doing well at festivals at the moment, one called ‘AIR’ by a great director and friend of mine Keir Burrows that recently won an award for ‘Best First Time Directing’ at the Colorado Film Festival. In general I would love to carry on working on a diverse range of projects. Comedy and film are close to my heart so they will be the main focus for now.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

