Darren Scott – (The Rig – 2010).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to Darren Scott about his role in horror movie, ‘The Rig’. Here, Darren talks about how he got involved in the project and what is currently on his I-Pod right now…

Hey Darren. Thanks for taking the time out to speak to me about your new film ‘The Rig’ which has just been released in selected UK cinemas.

For anyone who hasn’t heard of the film before – how would you sum it up?

An oil rig in the middle of the ocean is in the path of a violent storm. Most of the crew is evacuated but a skeleton crew is needed to remain on the rig. The force of the storm moves the rigs location which disturbs the nesting ground of an underwater creature who then boards the rig and begins a savage killing spree.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

I play John, the corporate assistant to Art LaFleur’s character Ken who runs the company that owns the rig. I’m basically Ken’s right hand man.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Well, it’s a spin on your basic action/horror/sci-fi film that puts you in isolation with the quest for survival from an unknown enemy. Just as ‘Alien’ put you way out in outer space, ‘The Rig’ has you way out in the middle of the ocean.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I had worked with Lori Chavez, one of the producers of ‘The Rig’ on another film called ‘The Men’s Room’ and she phoned me one day and said they were adding some scenes to a film, previously called ‘The Platform’ and had a role that she would like me to play. It was only about a week-long shoot so I said “sure”.

The film stars Serah D’Laine, William Forsythe, Art LaFleur, Scott Martin and Marcus T. Paulk – with Peter Atencio at the directors helm – what was it like working on-set with the cast and crew?

Since I was only shooting some additional scenes, I only worked with Art LaFleur and Peter Atencio. Art is a great guy! I really enjoyed working with him as well as socializing with him after we wrapped. We continue to grab lunch here and there in Los Angeles whenever time and availability permits. Peter was a solid director. His style creates a smooth workflow on the set. He gets all of the shots he needs and his eye for detail is keen.Very nice guy too. As far as the other cast and crew I came in contact with, they were all a great bunch to work with, especially the makeup artist who became my wife!

Let’s talk a bit about you Darren. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve always loved the creative process. The ability to explore a character and take written words on a page and make them your own, thereby creating a being outside of yourself – it just fascinated me.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

Study the craft with a teacher who fits your creative process. Read books like ‘Respect For Acting’ by Uta Hagen. Get up on stage and do as much theatre as possible. And no matter what anyone tells you, believe in yourself and your abilities.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

I listen to such a broad scope of things. Let’s see….. Billy Idol, Flo-Rida, Alicia Keyes, Bruno Mars, Lady Gaga, Mike Posner, David Cook, the soundtrack from ‘Phantom of the Opera’, The Doors, etc…

You’re also a voice-over artist too – mostly notably in the ‘Star Wars’ realm, having been part of the ‘Starfighter’ and ‘Jedi Starfighter’ games – what was it like to be part of that?

I absolutely love ‘Star Wars’! When I saw the very first ‘Star Wars’, I can still remember the feeling I had when I walked out of the cinema…I had this feeling of … sadness? … disappointment?… I’m not sure if those are the correct words but I had sort of an empty feeling because I knew that the adventure (for the time being) was over and all of those cool characters and settings wouldn’t be part of my tomorrow. I wanted more! So being part of the ‘Star Wars’ games was an honor. Playing Rhys Dallows, the only human pilot, made me feel like I was Luke Skywalker. What fun!

What does a Darren Scott day usually consist of?

Every day I’m either in recording sessions or auditioning for new voice over projects. It’s an endless cycle. I still work on-camera as well but I am much busier as a voice over artist. Other than that, I enjoy life in beautiful California with my wife!

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

On the local level, the talks of bringing a football (NFL) team back to Los Angeles is pretty interesting. I’m not a big sports guy but the fact that a major city like LA hasn’t had an NFL team for years seems a bit odd. Nationally, the riots going on in London is absolutely disgusting. I saw some footage the other day on the news and was appalled. There is no excuse for this type of behavior no matter what. These individuals are not thinking of the innocent people whose lives they are affecting. I do believe in karma and at some point in their lives, they will find themselves in a situation that prompts them to ask “Why is this happening to me?” and the universe will wink at them.

What else is coming up for you in 2011/12?

I am currently working on various voice over projects. I am also up for some acting gigs that are in the works. One is a film called “Pilot Jack” which is about a group of teens who compete in ariel combat events with these amazing remote control planes. Another is a pilot for a TV series called “The Polygamist” which is about a big movie producer in Los Angeles who has six wives who each live on separate floors of a high-rise and the 7th floor is his bachelor pad.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gloria Pressman
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 12:32:34

    Handsome. I look forward to seeing more of him on film. I will remember his name..Darren Scott.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

