Marek Oravec – (Captain America: The First Avenger – 2011).

I recently got the chance to have a quick chat with Marek Oravec about his role in ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’. Here, Marek talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and about how he got into acting in the first place… 

Hey Marek. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’ – it seems to be doing pretty well in the UK right now.

For anyone not fully versed in the Marvel comics, how would you sum up the plotline? 

Well, there is this Norwegian Resistance fighter called Jan (played by me), who is protecting the ‘cosmic cube’ –  a sort of power source – from the Nazis. Tragically, he and his mates are overpowered by the invaders and he gets killed. Then other stuff happens….I mean, you could say that I shout and I die; but to me there’s so much more to him. I think he’s a pretty chilled out guy who likes to go fishing at the fjords, you know; tries to get into the village’s music society: has this ex-girlfriend who he wants to get back together with after realizing that he’s done some mistakes, but she’s seeing this other bloke now, who is a complete d*ckhead…. that sort of thing… (by the way, there’s no reference to any of that in the script, but there’s a prequel right there!)

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

Let’s say I did things I’m not very proud of… not really. Seriously, I just auditioned and they cast me.

Had you been a fan of the ‘Captain America’ comic book series before you signed on / were you aware of the franchise? Did you do any background research once you get the part? 

I wasn’t actually, no, but I really enjoyed doing some research on it. And WHAT a franchise!

The film stars Chris Evans, Hayley Atwell, Sebastian Stan, Tommy Lee Jones and Hugo Weaving – and Joe Johnston is onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? 

I didn’t get to meet everybody, but I had the pleasure and honor to work with Hugo Weaving and David Bradley. Both were genuinely nice people. Joe Johnston was very cool and he gives you a lot of freedom. The crew was massive and the make-up girls were hot (which improved my performance).

Captain America has a shield that he can use to protect himself from attack and also throw – can you think of any other practical uses for it? 

Winter Olympics 2014?

Let’s talk a bit about you Marek. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I haven’t figured that one out yet. But I suppose I always thought of it as the best job in the world, and… it is!

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting? 

Listen to your gut. And to Mark Knopfler.

What music is currently on your I-Pod? 

‘The Great Hereafter’ (not the hardcore band). I was out in Camden last week and came across their gig. They were phenomenal!  Seriously good.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month? 

I loved the article about the newborn hippopotamus in London Zoo. So cute…….

What’s coming up for you in 2011?  

Currently I’m rehearsing a play called ‘The Kitchen’, by Arnold Wesker, at the National Theatre here in London, which will keep me busy till the end of the year. Otherwise you can see me in the upcoming Sherlock Homes sequel ‘A Game of Shadows’  in which I am playing the Austrian Crown Prince Rudolf.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CMrok93
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:48:53

    In the era of the tortured superhero in movies, it’s refreshing to come across one with enthusiasm and a pure spirit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

