Jacob Bruce – (The Rig – 2010).

I recently got the opportunity to have a quick chat with Jacob Bruce about his role in indie film ‘The Rig’. Here, Jacob talks about what is currently on his I-Pod right now and what it was like working with the cast and crew on an actual rig…

Hey Jacob. Thanks for taking the time out to speak to me about your new film, ‘The Rig’. It’s currently in selected UK cinemas right now…

Really?! That’s AWESOME! “Hello England!!!!”

For anyone who hasn’t heard of the film before – how would you sum it up?

A skeleton crew is left on an oil rig for the weekend when a storm blows in and the rest of the crew has to be evacuated. The drill on the rig digs into a nest or lair of some kind and the occupant is (understandably) upset. It gets onboard the rig and starts to attack the crew.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

I play the part of ‘Wallace’. He’s a technician on the rig who is part of the “essential crew” that stays onboard during the storm.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

‘The Rig’ is a bit of a tribute to the old monster movies that I grew up watching. There are very few digital effects, and the movie is very much driven by the characters and the suspense that the director and the DP create.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was originally called in as a reader for the L.A. casting sessions. When I read the script, I thought to myself: “This is a role I REALLY want to do!” So, I came in fully prepared to read for the role, and managed to convince the director and the producers that I was the right actor for the part.

The film stars Serah D’Laine, William Forsythe, Art LaFleur, Scott Martin and Marcus T. Paulk – with Peter Atencio at the director’s helm – what was it like working on-set with the cast and crew?

It was a blast! We filmed on an actual oil rig that is now a museum and school. It was appropriately creepy, that’s for sure! Mr. Atencio was a great collaborator with both the acting and the technical side, and kept us all constantly involved in the process. He could work with the creature guys, set up the shot with the DP, and then step on-set and give the actors direction and encouragement. Mr. Forsythe was a true pro. He’s one of my heroes in the business, and it’s always great to find out the people you respect on camera are just as great off.

Let’s talk a bit about you Jacob. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I was in a school play when I was about 8 years old, and I’ve been hooked ever since. My parents were very good at introducing me to great TV and movies, and the more I saw, the more I wanted to be a part of it.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

To remember that it is a serious commitment. You can’t just sort-of want to be an actor. It’s all or nothing.

What is currently on your I-Pod / car stereo right now?

It’s pretty electric. I love music and I listen to it all day. Pop, classic rock, alternative, country, musicals….yeah, I like a lot of stuff. And I sing in the car. Loudly. “Strong and wrong” as my old band teacher used to say.

If you could have a dinner party with three historical guests, living or dead – who would they be and why?

Jack Lemmon, William Shakespeare and Lucille Ball. The conversation would be INCREDIBLE. And I would probably be laughing too hard to eat.

What is coming up for you in 2011/12?

Like most actors, I’m constantly looking for my next job! I filmed a web-TV series called ‘Hollywood Hell’ recently that should be out this year, I’ve also finished taping a couple of episodes of a radio talk-show about cars, and I’ve been cast in a play called ’26 Miles’ at the Mo’olelo Performing Arts Company in San Diego that opens this fall.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

