Marisé Alvarez – (The Caller – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to Marisé Alvarez about her role in ‘The Caller’. Here, Marisé talks about how she got involved in the project and about how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Marisé. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘The Caller’. The trailer looks fantastic. What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

A young lady in our present time starts receiving calls from an old lady who is already dead and starts discovering her past. The movie forms a psychological game between the past, the present and the future.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

I play the Nurse of the nursing home where Rose, the old lady, used to live at some point.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

They were casting in Puerto Rico, and I was out of the country at that time because of work. But Patricia Alonso, a casting director in Puerto Rico, knew of my work, so she called me up and asked me to send my audition on tape, and I did! I then had the call back with the director, and got the part.

The film stars Stephen Moyer, Rachelle Lefevre and Luis Guzman – what was it like working with them and the other cast?

My scene was with Rachelle and I have to say she’s a pretty cool chick! She was very kind and relaxed…fun to work with. I remember one lunch break she bought Ben & Jerry’s ice cream for everyone! Stephen I only met on the reading…very professional and cool as well. And Luis is part of the family! I also worked with him in ‘Maldeamores’ (aka ‘Lovesickness’), a Puerto Rican film, and he is always so humble…a great and simple man.

Let’s talk a bit about you Marisé. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve always loved to make people laugh…to entertain…to have fun and make characters up. So I decided to study theatre and acting as a career. I have a BA in Drama from the University of Puerto Rico, and an MA in Theatre from the University of Manchester, UK. I’ve been working in theatre, film, radio and TV for almost 11 years now…and I can’t think of doing anything else. I love my job!

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

Acting is the kind of job that you only do because you love it. You can be an accountant, and not necessarily love it, but you have to LOVE acting in order to pursue it as a career. If you love it, get involved in any type of work related to it. I remember I always offered help to my drama professors in their productions…for free! I did a little bit of everything…props, wardrobe, make-up, anything! I just wanted to be backstage and see the actors in action. Those were the most incredible learning experiences.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

I think this one is great news…something fun and positive, for a change: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/northamerica/usa/8680505/Singing-construction-worker-soothes-commuters.html

You were in ‘Che: Part 1′ and ‘Che: Part 2’, where you played the role of Vilma Espin – what was it like working on that project? I loved both parts!

Thanks! It was a great privilege to play the part of such an important woman in Cuba. The whole experience of working in this production was amazing; not only because I was surrounded by great actors and colleagues, but also because it was an incredible history lesson…lots of research and reading. Very guerrilla as well! Filming in the woods was an adventure itself.

What does a Marisé Alvarez day usually consist of?

Everyday is different, it depends if I’m shooting a movie, or if I have auditions, or a radio program to do, commercials, workshops, shows, etc…But my everyday routine is pretty much the same: waking up, walking my dog, stretching, doing some push-ups, planks, and/or abs, and making my great espresso coffee! I CANNOT start my day without a great espresso coffee!

What’s coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’re currently filming ‘El Acantilado’…

Yes, I just finished filming ‘El Acantilado’, and I start filming next week another independent local movie called ‘San Pascual’. There is a letter of intention signed with a production in NY, and I have some meetings in NY and LA coming soon. Hopefully, a lot of work!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

