JJ Feild – (Captain America: The First Avenger – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to JJ Feild about his role in ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’. Here, JJ talks about what it was like working on this fantastic project, and who has been his favourite actor to work with…

Hey JJ. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’ will in cinemas worldwide as of 29th July 2011.

For anyone not fully versed in the Marvel comics, how would you sum up the plotline?

‘Captain America’ is a classic adventure hero movie. Being set during World War 2 it combines all the great possibilities of a Marvel hero genre while adding the wonderful plot of a world at war. It’s a story about courage being more than just strength.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film….

I play ‘Montgomery Falsworth’ who is part of Captain America’s special team sent to destroy ‘Redskull’. We’re known as ‘The Howling Commandos’ or the ‘Flying Invaders’. We are a band of super soldiers, as it were. I’d like to think that I’m the British contingent in the winning of the war…

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Like all work, it seemed to come out of the blue. I was in LA and was asked if I could audition for the part in London but couldn’t fly back in time – so I recorded a tape in my friends kitchen and it seemed to do the job.

Had you been a fan of the Captain America comic book series before you signed on / were you aware of the franchise? Did you do any background research once you get the part?

To be honest I never knew much about the world of any comic books. Of course I’d heard of these wonderful characters growing up but it wasn’t until getting the job that I really got involved. Of course Marvel were hugely supportive and gave me tons of stuff to read but ultimately it comes down to the script that we’re performing and my imagination. That and of course watching ‘A Bridge too Far’ over and over again..

The film stars Chris Evans, Hayley Atwell, Sebastian Stan, Tommy Lee Jones and Hugo Weaving – and Joe Johnston is onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

We had a wonderful time on set. It felt like a real team. Some people I knew before and because films of this scale take a long time we got to spend a lot of time hanging out together laughing. However the greatest part of any job is meeting new people and I very happy to call our international team of ‘commandos’ as my new friends.

Captain America has a shield that he can use to protect himself from attack and also throw – can you think of any other practical uses for it?

Eating your breakfast in bed off of.

Let’s talk a bit about you JJ. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have no idea. I just always knew it was what I wanted to do. I don’t remember making the decision. I simply felt more comfortable doing theatre than anything else at school.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

Persistence. Kind persistence.

If you could recommend a film or TV series to someone, what would you choose and why?

I’m obsessed with HBO’s ‘Treme’ at the moment. It’s like nothing I’ve seen before.

You’ve had a number of different roles on a range of different projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

That’s an impossible question to answer because I’ve been so lucky to work with so many actors from so many different countries and performance cultures. I try to learn from everyone. I was actually just telling a friend how extraordinary it was to work with Ian Holm recently so I’ll say him. He inspired me to never do the same take twice and that the mistakes that happen are normally the most exciting.

What does a JJ Feild day usually consist of?

Right now….. Sleep. I’m filming nights for a while.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

I’m having a wonderful time shooting ‘Austenland’ at the moment. It’s by the team that made ‘Napoleon Dynamite’ and has an incredible cast – the likes of Keri Russell, Jennifer Coolidge, Jane Seymour and Bret McKensie. It’s a hilarious comedy and couldn’t be more different to ‘Captain America’.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: “The Avengers”: All about the superheroes « Radu presents: The Movie-Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

