Sophie Anderson – (Break My Fall – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to have a quick chat with Sophie Anderson about her role in indie film ‘Break My Fall’. Here, Sophie talks about the film and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Sophie. Thanks for taking the time out to speak to me. ‘Break My Fall’ is currently in selected UK cinemas as of 22nd July 2011.

How would you sum up the general plot line of the film?

‘Break My Fall’ is based on the last three days of a relationship. The period when you know it is time to break up but can’t quite find the strength to leave. It is very realistic, gritty and vibrant.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

The production team actually found me on a casting site on the internet. I remember it was really late at night when I received an e-mail from them inviting me to an audition. They said they had been looking for a long time for somebody that looked right.

Tell us a bit about your character in the movie…

Sally is very young and naive. She doesn’t think about the consequence of her actions and lives her life day by day.

The film stars – your good self, Kat Redstone, Kai Brandon Ly and Collin Clay Chace – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Everybody on set was brilliant. We all became a little family. Learning as we went a long as it was everyone’s first feature film.

Let’s talk a bit about you Sophie. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have always acted, I was a member of an amateur theatre company in my hometown of Rugby (in the Midlands) since I was 6 and then I went to train professionally at a theatre school in London. My family has always supported me. So it is all I know really. I would feel absolutely lost without it in my life.

Who has inspired you as an actress?

Samantha Morton is my biggest idol in the industry. She is everything in an actress I would want to be.

If you could recommend a film or TV series to someone, what would you choose and why?

Either ‘This Is England’ by Shane Meadows or most recently ‘Tyrannosaur’ by Paddy Considine. For TV series’ I would have to say ‘In Treatment’, which is like a fly on the wall drama set in a psychiatrist office. Genius!!

You’ve been in a number of shorts – how important do you think the indie industry is nowadays?

It is hugely important. A lot of the time it is a showcase for up and coming actors and directors, and a chance to show all different kinds of stories that you may not see in big budget productions. British cinema is absolutely packed with talented individuals.

What does a Sophie Anderson day usually consist of?

I film on a regular basis for different projects most of the time and also get hired at the film schools around London. I eat sleep and live this industry and wouldn’t have it any other way.

What is coming up for you in 2011?

I have a number of projects in the pipeline. I would love to be involved in some more British films because that is where my heart lies!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

