Ramon Camín – (K – 2009).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to Ramon Camín about his role in ‘K.’ Here, Ramon talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on the film, and what’s coming up for him in 2011…

Hey Ramon. Thanks for taking out the time from a hectic schedule to talk to me. ‘K’ has been released in selected cinemas as of 31st July 2011.

How would you sum up the film’s plotline?

K and his brother are two young Algerian men who have grown up on their own since their parents were assassinated when they were children. They’ve now arrived in London and are trying to make a go of it. However, there is a dark, mysterious presence that, for some unknown reason, is after them.

Tell us a bit about your character in the movie…

I’d say that my character serves as the comic relief in the movie. I play Paco, a transplanted Spaniard who runs a run-down hotel that caters mostly for prostitutes and crack whores. My crass, irascible exterior hides a heart of gold. I reluctantly take K in and wind up taking him under my wing. I try to get him jobs, give him dodgy fashion advice and become one of his only true friends.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned for Don Allen. The role was originally written as an Iranian immigrant called Bashu. However, when Don found out that I was Spanish, he said that we should just make him Spanish. The main thing for him was that he had to be a foreigner living in London. So Bashu became Paco.

How would you say this film differs from other thrillers released this year?

For one thing it’s the first part of a trilogy. The other thing that I would highlight is that most of the major characters are from ethnic minorities.

The film stars Adrian Annis, John Banks, Jenny Campbell and Kathryn Camsey – with Don Allen on-board as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew?

I had a great time shooting the movie. Everyone was professional, courteous and friendly. I found it to be a very relaxed atmosphere to work in no matter what the particular circumstances of the location or scene that was being shot were. It didn’t matter whether we were shooting a club scene with lots of extras, stuntmen etc. or an intimate two-character scene. In this sense, I tip my hat to our director Don Allen. He was unflappable, no matter how complicated the situation was or how behind we may have been in the day’s shooting schedule. The director is the key for setting the mood on a set and he was just what the doctor ordered.

Let’s talk a bit about you Ramon. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I started doing theatre in high school, moved on to do community theatre and decided at sixteen that this is what I wanted to dedicate my life to.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

Believe in yourself and develop a thick skin. In this business, you’re doing extremely well if you’re getting called back for three out of ten auditions. That means seven rejections so you’ve got to be prepared for a good amount of rejection. Also, always be very prepared for auditions. As an actor, your level of preparation is one of the few things you have complete control over so make sure you’re always ready and focused.

What music is currently on your I-Pod?

You name it, and I’ve probably got it. I’ve got forty-eight days of continuous music on my I-tunes that covers everything from alternative rock to flamenco, jazz, salsa, tango, country, bluegrass, classical music, 70’s disco, gypsy music, R & B, blues and African music…….

You’ve had a number of different roles on a range of different indie and mainstream projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

My favourite actor to work with was Charlton Heston. He was a perfect gentleman. He was unassuming, gracious, hard-working and very generous as an actor. He was a great example of the fact that you don’t have to agree with someone else’s politics to be able to get along with or become friends with them. The best advice that I received was from a stage actor in Chicago almost twenty years ago named Gene Grillo. It’s the advice that I now pass along above – have a thick skin and prepare, prepare, prepare your auditions.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

I’d have to say seeing how Rupert Murdoch, his son and cronies are finally having to pay the piper for their vile behavior. He and his companies are largely responsible for the coarsening of the political and social discourse in too many places – as well as dragging the ethics of journalism through the mud.

What’s coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’ve just completed a project called ‘G.W.B’…

Yes! As a matter of fact, it will have its world premiere at the New York International Latino Film Festival on August 19th. It’s a thriller that takes place over the course of 24 hours in Washington Heights, New York City. It’s a mainly latino neighbourhood next to the George Washington Bridge – thus the title. All of the cast and most of the production team are latino. I’m actually pretty excited to be having two movies open in the same month in two different countries. Hopefully, it will make it over to your side of the pond!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

