Brady Rubin – (Larry Crowne – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Brady Rubin about her role in ‘Larry Crowne’. Here, Brady talks about what it was like working with Tom Hanks and about how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Brady. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Larry Crowne’ is currently in UK cinemas right now, and is doing fantastic.

What is the general plotline of the film?

The plot of the film concerns a man named Larry Crowne – who is a great, model employee for a store. He’s so great that management can’t find a reason to fire him and they want to: he’s costing them too much. They suddenly realise that he’s not a college grad – therefore he can’t advance up the ladder and so Larry gets fired. Larry tries to find another job, can’t .. and goes back to school, where he takes public speaking lessons from Julia Roberts, an unhappily married, heavy drinker… who ends up single, and starts flirting with Larry….

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…
 
I’m part of the old U-Mart team: in fact, it was my retirement party and there was even a cake with my picture on it, and I was carried around by a stunt team carrying my chair (three men and a woman) and we all played ‘Limbo’. I held the bar and also went under the bar… all this was showing what a great guy he was to work with… and the producers decided to cut that scene out. Shame really.
 
How would you say this film is different from other comedies released this year?
 
How is this film different?  Well, I know it appeals to me more. I’m more interested in someone making something of his/her life, and keeping a positive attitude than I am watching their debacle of a life unwind… and I like films about people, about the lives we are leading today.. or might be leading. 
 
The film stars Tom Hanks, Julia Roberts and Sarah Mahoney – what was it working with the cast and crew on-set? I understand Tom also wrote and directed the picture too?
 
Yes, that’s true. It’s actually sort of like the fairy tale you’d imagine of Tom Hanks: he runs a great set actually – cappuccino truck in the afternoon, chair massage therapist to help any of us during the day… does that sound like the lap of luxury? It is. Plus, all the people I worked with were just the people you’d expect him to choose: we all liked each other…
 
Let’s talk a bit about you Brady – what made you want to get into acting in the first place?
 
In the 6th grade I wrote and acted in a version of ‘Hansel & Gretel’ with my best friend, and I really liked it… and there was a great acting teacher/director in Jr. High. My parents and teachers thought “Mrs. Six would save me” because I was so shy (I would cry from embarrassment reading the note from the principal aloud in class). And Mrs. Six did!! I kept on acting through high school and college and then went to NY and finally LA.
 
It’s funny, you’re the first person I’ve met that’s been in ‘Buck Rogers’ – how was it working in the 25th century?
 
Isn’t it great that I was in ‘Buck Rogers’?!  It was one of the last episodes. Since they knew it had been cancelled, hardly anyone was interested in it. They sort of found costumes for us in the leotard department..and I had to remind the hairdresser the 2nd day that it might be nice if I matched the first day..! I was on a spaceship being held up and turned hot and cold to make us give up a hostage. Supposedly traveling with my sister… but they cut that line so we looked like a nice lesbian couple. You know how sets are always too hot?  Well, they filmed the “hot” in the early morning when the set was freezing cold, and sprayed us with cold water to look like sweat. Then they filmed the “cold” in the hot afternoon and wrapped us in extra blankets. No-one really directed our reactions so they varied WILDLY from “whatever” to ‘terribly dramatic’.  I erred on the latter side: when my tape editor saw it, even he said, “you’ll probably want to get this off your reel as soon as you can..”
 
You’ve been in many TV series – of course, including ‘Buck Rogers’ – which has been your favourite to guest star on and why?
 
I loved working on ‘The Closer’.  The people were wonderful and it was an interesting part with a handicap (partial blindness).  That’s always fun to work on: a physical thing to research and play against.
 
What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?
 
I’m very interested in the ups and downs of the clean air act… and the grass-roots interest in it. I’m also interested in the elections in Wisconsin.. and I want to see Obama elected again.
 
What does a Brady Rubin day usually consist of?
 
I get up, meditate, fix my husband’s vegetarian lunch for him to take to work (I love that; it sounds so “wifey”); walk my two dogs, the black standard poodle and her pet, the “snickerdoodle” (12 lbs of energy), go to the gym… sometimes have an audition or rehearsal for a scene for Classical Theatre Lab, sometimes rehearse a play (I’m a member of Los Angeles Women’s Shakespeare, for example). At this stage, if I do a play for fun and for free, it’s a role I want to do with people I want to work with. I’m considering working on an evening of Sylvia Plath, but it’s only in talking stage right now.
 
What’s coming up for you in 2011?
 
My husband and I just bought a house in Ashland, Oregon, where the Shakespeare Festival is. We’re having the best time, 6 weeks here and 2 there. We even ride bikes to the theatre there… and of course I’d love to work there. I know no one in the Festival personally, but I love their work… the season is only half over and we’ve seen ‘Measure For Measure’ three times already… I don’t see us giving up our home here; I love working in film, and we’re both open to adjusting schedule around my work. Everything is great!
 
Thanks for the interview!
 
Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

