Hali Lula Hudson – (The Myth Of The American Sleepover – 2010).

I recently got the chance to talk to Hali Lula Hudson about her role in teen flick ‘The Myth Of The American Sleepover’. Here, Hali talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and about how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Hali. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘The Myth Of The American Sleepover’ will be in selected US cinemas soon and has been gaining interest through IMDB for the past few weeks.

What is the general premise of the movie?

The movie, set in the suburban part of Michigan, is a coming-of-age drama about four young teenagers on the last night of summer before the new school year starts, experiencing and discovering those moments of their adventurous youth.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie….

My role in this movie is small but I’m really proud to be a part of it. I play Tina. Tina is a girl in a “campy” horror film that a group of teenage boys are watching in a friend’s living room. We can all remember the first time we saw a cheesy chainsaw killer movie with terrible plots but lots of boobies and blood! The director told me that although it’s a small role, this scene is one of his favorites in the movie.

What would be your ideal sleepover?

NOW.. Pizza, a bottle of wine, small group of friends and a great movie or Catchphrase (that game is addictive)!

A user on IMDB, GregKing4 – has said – “The Myth of the American Sleepover’ is an honest and affirmative coming of age film that resonates.” – would you agree with this? How would you say it is different from other teen flicks?

I do agree with this. This movie may differ from other teen flicks because the adventures they go on are more true to life. You can get wrapped up in this movie because you can really understand and feel what the characters are going through. I’d say it falls into the category of a John Hughes film and I think almost everyone has at least one John Hughes movie in their ‘Top 5’ favourite movies.

The film stars Claire Sloma, Marlon Morton, Amanda Bauer and your good self – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I unfortunately didn’t get the opportunity to work directly with this talented cast but the crew and cast I did work with were great. We shot our scene in a wooden house that sat on a very steep slope – so we had to climb like a zillion steep steps to get to the main part of the house and then we shot the scene in a hot tub on the deck. Everyone on set was nice and very professional. The girls I did the scene with were a lot of fun; our wardrobe was 80’s attire so getting into character with the other girls after the wardrobe transformation was great.

Let’s talk a bit about you Hali – what made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I became an actor when I lived in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. I had graduated from college and was working as a graphic artist and needed something more stimulating to do in my life so I joined a comedy troupe!! I was with this troupe for about a year and a half or so and I just fell in love with acting. I then started pursuing film auditions. I auditioned for a reality show called ‘A Nightmare on Elm Street: Real Nightmares’ and was selected for it, they flew me out to LA to do most of the filming there and that is when I officially caught the bug. About a year later I packed my bags and drove across country to Los Angeles to really pursue this.

You’ve had a number of different roles on a number of TV series and films – who has been your favorite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

Oh that’s nearly impossible for me to answer! Everyone so far has been my favorite!! I worked on a silly/brilliant film called ‘Shakey Willis’ with some very talented and successful friends of mine and I’d say working with them was probably the most fun I’ve had working with actors so far. As far as advice goes I’ve been given so many different pieces of advice from different people but the best may have been from a teacher and I can’t quote the exact words but it’s along the lines of: “I’ve never been on a set and seen a child stressed out like the rest of the cast and crew. They are such good little actors. Children are playing and this is fun to them – they just don’t give a sh*t, so you should do the same, just don’t give a sh*t and you will be great.” Something like that!

If you could recommend a film or TV series to someone, what would you choose and why?

Right now I’m really into ‘Dexter’. This show forces you to fall in love with a serial killer but for good reason. The suspense has me going crazy! It hasn’t started its 5th season yet but I can’t wait. Also, ‘Bones’ is another one I really enjoy. It’s really interesting but with refreshing quarkyness. I recently watched a movie that landed the lead actress Jennifer Lawrence an Oscar nomination called ‘Winter’s Bone’, I recommend this movie. It was quite and chilling and sad, but also interesting.

What does a Hali Hudson day usually consist of?

My day consists of walks or hikes with the dog, catching up with Hollywood news from TMZ and light workouts. I speak with someone in my family often if not everyday too. I have five brothers and sisters – I’m close with all of them and of course my parents. And of course I’m always submitting for a new acting job. 

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

I’ve just heard the news that Amy Winehouse has passed away, my heart goes out to her family. Also I have been following the Casey Anthony trial and the news of her acquittal was pretty big news and pretty overwhelming for a lot of people who followed the story in the US.

I thought I’d leave this question towards the end – but you were in an episode of ‘Total Wipeout USA’ – what was that like? Did you win?

Haha!! Yes I did ‘Wipeout’! After a day of that I think it’s only fair to say that I can now qualify as a stunt woman! I didn’t win but I made it to round two and that round was the dreaded “Sweeper”. I stood on a plank about 2 feet by 2 feet wide (the way I remember it), 15 or 20 feet above the water (razor-sharp cold water) and I had to duck and leap over this thing as it swung at me and try not to fall off or get knocked off. I got knocked off. It was quite a day!

What is coming up for you in 2011?

I have another feature coming out soon called ‘Scary Or Die’, directed by Michael Emanuel and starring Corbin Bleu. It’s going to be a good one – clowns, vampires, zombies, voodoo. I’m looking forward to filling my calendar the rest of the year with more work. It’s been a lot of fun so far!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

