Amanda Bauer – (The Myth Of The American Sleepover – 2010).

I recently got the chance to talk to Amanda Bauer about her role in ‘The Myth Of The American Sleepover’. Here, Amanda talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and about what her ideal sleepover would be…

 

Hey Amanda. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘The Myth Of The American Sleepover’ will be in selected US cinemas soon and has been gaining interest for the past few weeks through IMDB. For anyone who hasn’t seen the film yet, the film concerns four teenagers who are looking for love and adventure on the last day of summer.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie….

I play Claudia, she’s the seemingly shy and quiet new girl in town with an impulsive devious side.

What would be your ideal sleepover?

Anything that would include my good girlfriends would be perfect. They can make anything fun.

A user on IMDB, GregKing4 – has said – “The Myth Of The American Sleepover is an honest and affirmative coming of age film that resonates.” – would you agree with this? How would you say it is different from other teen flicks?

I would agree. I would hope that that’s what people take away from seeing the film. I think that it’s different because it’s more realistic, it’s simple. We’ve all had those moments in our lives where we were desperately yearning for some guy or girl or where we’ve been betrayed by someone we trusted – so those feelings hit home for most people. Also, because the film isn’t set in a certain time period – a wider age range of people can relate to it. We’ve had everyone from 17 year olds to 50 year olds say that they have felt something when watching the movie, whether it was something they went through many years ago or something they’re going through now. Not many films have the capability of effecting people in that way. It hits your heartstrings.

The film stars Claire Sloma, Marlon Morton, your good self and Brett Jacobsen – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Everyone was amazing. Seriously. I know everyone says that, but this group was so great and so easy-going and everyone got along really well – which is rare. I’ve been lucky enough to get to know a lot of them better through travelling to the festivals and supporting the film, and it’s been fantastic. We now have this crazy weird bond through the whole ride of making this film and supporting it since then and I couldn’t have asked for a better group to experience it with. I’ve gained a lot of really great friends from it, which I’m thankful for.

Let’s talk a bit about you Amanda – what made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I did a lot of music when I was younger – I played piano, and was in the school band, and then my parents got me voice lessons for my birthday one year because I was painfully shy and they were hoping it would bring me out of my shell. The teacher also taught theatre and I watched some of the other kids perform and I was hooked! I was still too shy for theatre, but I always loved movies. My Dad would take me to the movies all the time when I was little, and I was like I wanna do that!

You had a number of different roles on a number of TV series and films – who has been your favourite actor to work with so far and who has given the best advice to you?

That’s such a tough question. I feel like I’ve learned something from everyone I’ve worked with, and I’ve made some really great friends from the things I’ve done. I think overall I’ve learned that it’s important to keep a good head on your shoulders. I have a lot of respect for the people who I’ve worked with that have been around many more years than I have. For them it’s just something that they love doing and they’re passionate about, it’s not about the fame or the lifestyle. That’s important in a town like this, and it’s something that I intend to keep myself in check with.

If you could recommend a film or TV series to someone, what would you choose and why?

‘The Myth of the American Sleepover’! Haha. I’m in love with ‘Mad Men’. I would kill to be on that show! As far as films go – there’s this great indie film called ‘Control’ that I saw a couple of years ago. It’s about the band Joy Division, which is one of my favorite bands, and the film is great! Sam Riley plays the lead singer Ian Curtis, and it’s a spot on performance, it’s so amazing.

What does a Amanda Bauer day usually consist of?

Right now, it’s busy, but I enjoy it. I’ve just wrapped another indie feature, and recently I’ve been auditioning a lot more so there’s never a dull day. It usually varies on a daily basis, but I love it. It keeps me on my feet!

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

Well, a week ago I found out that Amy Winehouse passed away which is shocking. She’s a very talented artist. No matter what anyone says, she was a great musician and she was incredibly talented, so it’s a huge loss.

What is coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’ve just finished two projects – ‘No-One To Blame’ and ‘Messina High’….

Yes! I think ‘No One To Blame’ is hoping for a release before the end of the year and I think they’re still in post production for ‘Messina High’. I’m so excited to see them, and hopefully I’ll be working more! That’s the plan at least!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

