Caleb Moody – (Infamous 2 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Caleb ‘Zeke’ Moody about his role in ‘Infamous 2’. Here, Caleb talks about what fans can expect from this instalment, how he got into acting and about his new projects….

Hey Caleb. Thanks for taking the time out to speak to me. ‘Infamous 2’ is currently in gaming stores worldwide.

For anyone who hasn’t had the chance to play it yet, how would you say this game continues on from the previous instalment? What can fans expect?

‘Infamous 2’ takes all things infamous to a whole new level! In the first game we created the story using only VO (voice over) from within a sound booth. With ‘Infamous 2’ Suckerpunch amped up the scale of production significantly by employing motion capture along with VO which enabled our characters to interact in a real and natural way. I think it shows in the emotional quality that the characters bring to the final product. Fans of ‘Infamous’ can expect a deeper connection to the characters and the world they live in within ‘Infamous 2’, plus tons of kick ass action. It’s truly awesome to be a part of.

You played Zeke Jedediah Dunbar in the original game – and he’s back in ‘Infamous 2’ – how would you say your character develops over the course of this instalment?

First, let me say I LOVE playing Zeke. It’s so cool to look up at a thirty foot screen in the middle of a huge sound stage and see your movements linked to a captured character that looks absolutely NOTHING like you. It’s freeing in a way. I think we really get to know Zeke better in ‘Infamous 2’. We see his loyalty, and his heart. I have read on several message boards that the final choice at the end of the game is a difficult one. I love reading that.

How did you get involved in the ‘Infamous’ project in the first place?

It was one of the very first VO auditions I ever went on. I remember my agent saying, “…dude you booked a video game. This could be cool.” HUGE understatement.

Why do you think ‘Infamous’ is so popular?

I think gamers enjoy the anti-hero elements of Cole, which the vastly talented Eric Ladin, brings to life. I also think the writing and world of ‘Infamous’ is fresh and super cool. There’s just a different feel to playing ‘Infamous 2’ though…you really feel like you’re there. The story is so captivating, and the scenes between gameplay are so cinematic…I think ‘Infamous 2’ has raised the bar.

Could you see ‘Infamous’ being turned into a motion picture – good or bad idea?

Yes. Awesome idea. I think the overall story told in ‘Infamous’ and ‘Infamous 2’ is developed enough to hold an audience’s attention in a movie theatre. Plus, I think it would be so cool to see which actors would end up bringing the video game characters to the big screen!

Let’s talk a bit about you Caleb. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve been acting since I was six years old. I grew up in a great little town called Hamilton, TX. There was an incredible woman there named Catherine Randolph who had directed theatre all over the world and somehow ended up in our town. She began a civic theatre company, and it was always something I’d loved doing. I went to Texas Christian University on a theatre scholarship, and moved to Los Angeles upon graduation. I’ve been here ever since. Working on ‘Infamous’ and ‘Infamous 2’ with all the talents at Suckerpunch and Sony has been one of the coolest experiences in my career.

You’ve had a long career dating back to 2000 – who has been your favourite actor to work with, and who has given the best piece of advice?

I have a movie coming out next year called ‘The Power Of Few’. In that film I worked with Christopher Walken…that was incredible. The best advice I ever got was from Colin Farrell. I was working as a stand in on a film called ‘American Outlaws’ that he was starring in. I was lamenting the fact that I didn’t have anything really going on after the movie was over, and that my career was nowhere near where I wanted it to be. He said, “…There’s not much difference between where you’re at and where I’m at. I’m shitting my pants that I may never work again too. I don’t think that ever changes. It’s something you just have to learn to deal with.” I didn’t believe him at the time…but he was right.

If you could recommend a film, game or TV series to someone, what would you choose and why?

I would recommend ‘Infamous 2’ of course, and HBO’s ‘Game Of Thrones’. It’s AWESOME! The story and character development is incredible. Every actor on those amazing sets is a genius. Dan Minahan who directed me in ‘True Blood’ has directed several episodes…he’s incredibly talented. It’s just AWESOME. Every Sunday night I would raise my arm in a “battle ready” position and hum the theme song. It always makes my wife laugh.

What does a Caleb Moody day usually consist of?

Waking up next to my beautiful wife and thanking God for all of my blessings…two of which are my daughter, Avery – twenty months and my son, Austin – five months. Trying to spend the day being present and thankful. Also, trying to book jobs to provide for my family.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

In an online article for GQ an author named John B. Thompson wrote a piece entitled, “The 40 Worst Dressed Cities In America”. In that article he wrote,”Boston is like America’s Bad-Taste Storm Sewer: all the worst fashion ideas from across the country flow there, stagnate and putrefy”. He then went on to say, “Due to so much local in-breeding, Boston suffers from a kind of Style Down Syndrome where a little extra ruins everything.” My beautiful son Austin was born with Down Syndrome. I simply cannot understand why anyone would write something like that. Even though the statements have been removed from the article, GQ has not issued a formal retraction or apology. I believe that GQ should take responsibility for these hurtful words. I view their continued silence as a gesture of standing by John B. Thompson and his ideas about Down Syndrome. I view their continued silence as corporate cowardice. GQ has a great opportunity to take a stand and turn offensive ignorance into positive awareness.

What is coming up for you in 2011?

I have a documentary feature that I produced and am the subject of – that comes out next year. It captures my time spent working on a commercial fishing rig on the Bering Sea to earn the money for my wife’s engagement ring. I also have ‘The Power Of Few’ coming out next year…the rest is in God’s hands…

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Caleb moody | Divine1travele

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

