David Fine – (Sensored – 2009).

I recently managed to get the chance to talk to David Fine about his role in Robert Picardo’s new film ‘Sensored’. Here, David gives the lowdown on the film, and talks about the favourite moments of his career so far…

Hey David. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Sensored’ is in selected UK cinemas right now. I must admit, I’m quite shocked that this film has taken so long to make it to the UK…. What’s the general plotline of the film?

I don’t know if Kevin Haskin would want me to get too specific about the plot….but let’s just say all is not as it appears to be…. the audience must slowly penetrate the duality of the world created by the story.

Tell us a bit about your character in the movie…

I’m the CIA handler of Robert (Picardo)’s character and I’m not very pleased with him in the context of the story, though I love him like a son… (even though I’m roughly Robert’s age and from the same state and city…chortle, chortle).

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

It wasn’t one my agent got me. I saw a post for it somewhere and was drawn in immediately. When I actually read Kevin’s script I was sold…it’s brilliant…I drove out to Sacramento from San Francisco in a rain storm to audition at an area hotel….I read for Picardo’s character and mine….and eventually it got sorted out that I’d play Dale his CIA handler.. I play one other small role in the film….see if you can find me.

How would you say this film is different to other horror thrillers? It’s sort of a bit ‘Donnie Darko’ esque, wouldn’t you say?

Not so sure I’d say it’s Darkoesque….but it is very brainy in a good way….challenging to the mind….

Let’s talk a bit about you David. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Lack of common sense and a desire to do work that could express my anti social personality disorders without going to the pen….plus there are a lot of beautiful women in the business and that’s always a plus….

You’ve had some great opportunities in your career – who has been your favourite actor to work alongside with so far and who has given you the best advice?

I’ve been lucky to work opposite a lot of great actors…I can’t cite just one. I will say I got a kick out of working with Ed Harris. He is one great human being and is made out of strong fiber. More recently I had a total thrill doing a role opposite Carrie Anne Moss, (Trinity from “The Matrix”), in which I got to slash her and draw blood. She is probably one of the most beautiful women in the world in my opinion and very easy to work with. On another front it wasn’t a sharp stick in the eye to do a hot tub scene with Estella Warren, former Olympic Bronze Medalist in Synchronized Swim. It would seem that she has a bit of the outlaw in her blood, in a good way, judging by recent events at the L.A. county jails. I love outlaw vixens!!

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Be careful what you wish for….it might come true… or half true….aside from that…if you’re targeting LA, don’t study stage acting….go there, get a manager, take a few CD workshops….and kiss ass with confidence but don’t be surprised when you get bollocksed over.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

You really don’t want me to get on that subject. I’m an arch Liberal, with a few hawkish, street justice tendencies…lol

What does a David Fine day usually consist of?

Hanging out in Russian Hill, San Francisco, traveling up and down the California Coast and playing with my cat Nomad….successor to my 18 1/2 year old deceased cat Sweezapuss…going to the gym, going to the cinema….and various other pursuits to make up for a misspent Youth. Recently I’ve been bidding on low rent original Casey Anthony portraits on Ebay.

What’s coming up for you in 2011? You’ve got so many projects coming up!!!

I have ten or twelve in various phases of development. I’m about to do a futuristic sci-fi film called “I’s” about a super intelligence evolving out of powerful computers. A short after that. I’m also currently involved in the development phase of a brilliant horror script by writer and indie graphic novelist Robert Heske, It’s called “Unrest”. It should be a great year.

Thanks for the interview!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bobheske
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 22:11:50

    Very nice interview. David Fine is an extremely talented and versatile actor. Sensored looks like a hidden gem. Bravo!

    Reply

  2. Jane Hamilton
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 18:54:04

    Go, David Go!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

