Jessie Cave – (Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2 – 2011).

I recently managed to grab Jessie Cave for a quick chat about her role as Lavender Brown in the last Harry Potter movie. Here, Jessie talks about what fans can expect, how she got into acting and what’s coming up for her in 2011…

Hey Jessie. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. The last instalment of the franchise – ‘The Deathly Hallows: Part 2’ is in cinemas as of today!

Hello there!

What can fans expect from the last instalment in the franchise with both your character and the storyline?

Lavender is very much part of the Hogwarts community and despite her heartbreak over Ron in the last movie, the serious threat to everybody’s welfare is what is important in this story. Everybody is scared, they are fighting for their lives, and Harry is looked up to as the hero, their saviour.

You’ve played the role of Lavender Brown since the ‘Half Blood Prince’ – how has it been for you taking on that character? How did you get the role of Lavender in the first place?

I auditioned through my agency, like other auditions. I was recalled. Then they announced they were doing open auditions, over 7000 girls turned up. I thought, that’s that! But then I was called for a screen test with Rupert and got told it was me a few weeks later. Amazing.

What was the feeling like when you were on-set for this film? I imagine there were a lot of teary faces…

The shoot was long, over a year, so people were okay when I was there! But as time ticked on people became understandably nostalgic and you really had a sense you had been part of something important and epic.

What is your favourite Harry Potter scene in the whole franchise?

Couldn’t possibly pick. Probably a scene in the Great Hall. The Great Hall is what it’s all about. Any scene with Snape or Bellatrix.

What are your feelings on this new internet entity called Pottermore? I understand it’s an online encyclopaedia of some description….

I am looking forward to it and hope satisfies the legions of forlorn Potter fans! I have created a website called www.pindippy.com and will definitely blog about Pottermore and how I feel about it, I am sure it will be beautiful and I am glad JK has enabled this.

Let’s talk a bit about you Jessie. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I was at art school and working backstage watching actors being animals at a theatre and thought: I could try this! A few weeks later I was auditioning and I have been extremely lucky. I am also a comedy writer /performer (Pindippy) and being in Harry Potter has allowed me to pursue this path and for that I am incredibly grateful.

What advice would you give to any UK young actors wanting to get into the industry?

Don’t! Seriously, DON’T! Save yourselves!

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

Don’t get me started on Mr Murdoch….

What does a Jessie Cave day usually consist of?

I’d rather not bore you, but if you insist: writing, emailing, maybe auditioning, exercising, organising, COFFEE.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

Lots of exciting filming for Pindippy.com with some AMAZING new cast members. Getting a sketch show together and hopefully getting a production company behind us for distribution.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

